Grandma's Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
My mother showed me how to make these when I was a little girl....she would make a glaze of confectioners sugar and evap. milk...really good hot and with a cold glass of milk! note...even the cheapest brand of canned biscuits will work....I don't cut holes..I just pull a hole in the middle by stretching the dough a little..maybe not as pretty but still looks like a doughnut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckluck
Home Town: Loxley, Alabama, USA
Living In: Bokeelia, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I made these many years ago when my adult children were little. The easy way instead of cutting a hole in the middle is to poke my clean finger through the center of the purchased can biscuits and whirl it around my finger. The fun of this is to let the children do it then when you have cooked the donuts I let the children shake them in a bag with either powederd sugar or cinnamon and sugar or just plain sugar. Kids had a great time and I had fun just watching them. They have passed this on to their own children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbrae, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This reminds me of years ago when we use to take a can of bisquits, cut a hole out (I think they liked the donut hole better than the rest of the bisquit) deep fry them. We made all kinds of frostings to top them with. Our kids enjoyed getting in on the fixing. Such good times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Independence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I have made douhnuts like this many years ago and learned from an aunt that you do not need to make "holes" just punch a hole in the center with your thumb and stretch it out to make perfect doughnuts. I had forgotten about this recipe so thanks for bringing it back to me. I will be sure to try them with the flakey biscuts also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I've been making these doughnuts for years for camping trips. I use the inexpensive, thinner canned biscuits and just tear a hole in the center. My Dad used to make a sugar glaze for his that was good, but for camping we just drain them and sprinkle - or douse - them with confectioners sugar. There are perfect for camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
These are a fun tasty treat, but I have to give it 3 stars because it's not a real recipe. I have found the same directions in a family magazine along with craft ideas. these are not really doughnuts just deep fried biscuits. Albeit tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I also have been making these for years. My children are grown and starting families of their own and I can't wait to make these for my grandkids. I put powdered sugar and cinnamon and sugar mixture in separate ziploc bags,drop doughnuts in and shake them up. Great way to have kids help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Used to make these when my sons (now in their 30's) were young and would come in from skating, playing in the snow with all their friends. They are good, quick and easy. I used to make them, fill zip lock bags with confectioner's sugar and another with cinnamon and sugar and let them shake their own. They are not as wonderful as homemade, but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Egremont, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Great and easy!! I used Betty Crocker whipped fluffly white frosting and it is awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
My mom always made donuts this way and I've continued with my kids. They can be just as easily fried in a frying pan if you don't want to mess with your deep-fryer. I gave them four instead of five stars only due to the high calorie/fat content, not taste...everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States