Grandma's Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
We used to make these years ago over a fire during Girl Scout camp outs. We heated the oil in coffee cans. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I have made for many years and always put the powdered sugar in a paper bag or baggie and dropped "doughnuts" in and shake for even coverage. Have also made with my own biscuit dough which I sweetened slightly. I also mixed powdered sugar with a little milk and drizzled over the doughnuts while warm. My 5 children loved them and now grandchildren and grt grandchildren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Azle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Hubby has been making these for many, many years. I was skeptical at first, but that leaves when you taste them. We just cut the biscuits into fourths (in half, then each half in half), making donut holes. We've tried them with the powdered sugar, and a mix of granulated and cinnamon. It's all good! So quick and so easy... in fact, we keep biscuits around just for this snack attack now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I used to make these when my children were young. But we would stretch the biscuit into a rectangle and fry. Then we put already made cream cheese frosting on them. They were kind of like the longs johns you get in the bakery. Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Here in Hawaii, we call them "Malassadas". We don't cut a hole in them, but after they are fried, place in a paper bag with sugar and cinnamon, shake, remove, eat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I have been making donuts like this for years. The kids and I make an event of it, I fry them up and they get to glaze and decorate them. We also always fry up the centers that we cut out and make donut holes. Delicious, fun and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amandabb
Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I love this simple recipe and the doughnuts taste great! I have also done these with raspberry filling and then done the powdered sugar on top. Pair with a great cup of coffee and you have a great start to your morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
My college roommate and I used to make these in our dorm room, using our popcorn popper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I have been making these donuts for years. I even got a request from my nephew to make them for him as his Christmas gift! Everyone in our family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I used to make these for my kids when they were little. It was always a favorite. I didn't have a deep fryer so I just put some oil in a skillet. We would roll ours in a sugar, cinnamon mixture. These taste best when warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States