Grandma's Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Amazing, but little tip replace the shortening with Canola oil for a better taste and better health and add cinnamon to the sugar for a cinnamon donut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAMOCATZ
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
They were awesome..I dipped the tops in glaze while they were still warm yum. Will make often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAMOCATZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Yummy!! We loved these! I used flaky, junior sized biscuits and they were the perfect size. We used cinnamon sugar, powdered sugar and a vanilla glaze and they were all good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Our whole family thought that these were just terrible, with the exception of my daughter in law who will eat anything that is least bit sweet. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I love these! They are the perfect recipe for a busy mom on the go. If someone didn't post these then us 20 and 30-year-olds would not know about them. So thank you for posting! These are quick, easy and I can make all different coatings. Plus I can't eat dairy so being able to make yummy donuts with biscuits that don't have dairy or butter is a fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aubslynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
We loved these! Quick and fun! They floated as soon as they were put in the oil so I just waited until they were a dark golden brown on one side then flipped and waited until dark golden brown then removed them. You could use half the amount of oil if desired. I cooked these in a 3qt pot 3 at a time. They came out perfect. Going to make these for a P.J party this Fri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LibertyBelle78
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
These were a great way to try out the new deep fryer Santa brought me! I used the not-so-grand size of canned biscuits, then went a little crazy. I used a turkey baster to inject them with whipped peanut butter frosting, dipped them in chocolate glaze, then added chopped PB cups to the top. My husband didn't believe they were homemade until he tasted how fresh they were. I have seen that trendy restaurants have been adding fresh doughnuts with a variety of dipping sauces to their dessert menus, and I think I will be doing the same thing. Everyone loves a doughnut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
If i could give this recipe more stars i would! Lets start with the easiness factor. I decided to make donut holes so i just cut the biscuits in half and rolled the halves in to balls. Tossed them in to the frier and thats it. Now for the taste factor I warmed up some strawberry jam for dipping and my guests couldn't get enough. This is a quick, delicious and versatile recipe! I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I looked at this recipe and thought, "Biscuit dough? There's no way that tastes like doughnuts." It tastes like doughnuts. I am converted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Super Easy Doughnuts

Homemade doughnuts dusted with confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States