Grandma's Cranberry-Orange Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Just had one of these salads for Easter side dish . Instead of pecans in it cranraisins were used and she had used cottage cheese. So good. It was raspberry jello, whole cranberry sauce canned pineapples undrained, chopped celery,kcranraisins, and cottage cheese. But I don't know amounts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Thanksgiving hit! Substituted the water & canned cranberry sauce with freshly made cranberry sauce (boiled/cold as needed).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrootLoop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Superb! My mom used to make a salad very similar to this. I loved it then and I still do! I pretty much followed this to a T with one exception. As royalhiness did, I also used a different recipe for the topping. I remember my mom's salad having a sweet-tangy topping and thought that this one might be a touch too sweet for my liking. To compensate, I mixed together a (softened) 8 oz. package of reduced-fat cream cheese, a c. of lite sour cream, 3/4 c. sugar and a 1/2 t of vanilla. DELISH!!! My only change for next time will be to use a 9 in. baking dish instead of a 9 x 13 in. one (I decided to not use a mold because I wanted to spread my topping rather than serve it tableside). I would have liked for my gelatin layer to be a *tad* thicker (but that's just me). This was a hit at my in-law's Easter dinner, so much so that I will be making this again for our Thanksgiving feast. :) Thanks for sharing, Carissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Delicious! This was really a nice addition to our Christmas table. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Very good a keeper for Thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Made this the last two Thanksgivings and we love it. I wasn't fond of the topping (needed to be a little sweeter), so I substituted one I found in several similar recipes: Beat till smooth an 8 oz package of cream cheese, a cup of sour cream and 1/2 cup of sugar. Spread it on top and sprinkle with chopped pecans. Making it tonight for a staff Christmas party for tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made this salad yesterday to have for Thanksgiving and it did not congell! A neighbor told me the recipe was incorrect and should have read DRAIN THE PINEAPPLE! This had to be eaten with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I'm a beginner cook (at 50 it's never too late to start) anyhoo... easy recipe and the taste was awesome! Definately on my to make again list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made this recipe for christmas. I used sugar-free black cherry jello (my daughter grabbed the wrong box of jello) instead & it turned out pretty good. I will be making this again for thanksgiving & next time I well try the raspberry jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litehuslvr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: North Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I just made this for Thanksgiving, exactly as written and it was wonderful! Next time I will use 1/4 c less pecans, but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4babes2luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States