Grandma's Cranberry Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
First of all I have been making a recipe very similar to this one, with a few exceptions for over 30 years (yet ours didn't have any alcohol or liqueur in it not even vanilla, it called for a cup of chopped and toasted nuts and the glaze called for a bit more sugar, but other than that it is the same). These cakes make a great gift, and are usually a big hit at every holiday dinner party. This cake is super moist with the soaking glaze. I remember mom always making this on Christmas Eve for our Christmas dinner, but to our surprise, dad always cut into it first thing on Christmas morning once he discovered just how good it really was. It became a tradition of ours from then on to have a slice while opening our Christmas presents. Sip a fine cup of coffee or your favourite tea with a slice of this, and you will be pleasantly surprised at just how splendid this really is. Thank you Staceyo for helping me relive some wonderful family memories of some long past Christmases. I'm ready to bake some more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Preeti
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Loved it. I did not have cranberry-flavored liqueur so I upped the OJ to 1/2 cup. Added the zest from two navel oranges. I also added 1/2 tsp orange extract, but I may skip it next time. Oh yes, there is a next time. In fact, I can't wait to make this again for a potluck. Compliments? Yes, please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preeti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I didn't change a thing and it was superb! The cake was moist and, between my husband and I, it took us 5 days before finishing and it was still delicious, not dry at all. I didn't have cranberry liquor so instead I added regular cranberry juice. Definitely a keeper with a nice orange icing...yummy in the tummy! Thank you so much StaceyO for sharing this wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francine Lizotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
So moist! I did not have the oj, orange or orange liquer or dates. But I did have my homemade cranberry apple orange relish with walnuts left over from Thanksgiving the day before. I just added more chopped walnuts because I like them. Did not do the icing (cutting back on sugar)& the cake was sweet enough without it. Will make again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
My husband says this is in my top 3 cakes ever. I too hate for people to judge a recipe when they didnt make it correctly, BUT just to let you know an OPTION, I used all cranberries (no dates), TripleSec (orange liquor)and pecans in the bottom of my bundt pan. Wonderfully moist and delicious! I am sure if you use dates and cranberry liguor it would be perfection...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttkc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This was pretty good. I skipped dates and added some more cranberries. I also didn't have any orange zest. I made it in a bundt pan, and it was not full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was delicious! So moist and flavourful. Like another reviewer, I didn't have any cranberry liqueur so I simmered a handful or so of cranberries in water and sugar then mooshed the cranberries once they were cooked and added that to the batter. I made the cake in the afternoon and served it for New Year's dinner and the cake soaked up most of the sauce that pooled around the bottom. I didn't find it too sweet at all. Just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HECTORBOYARDEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
My mom made this for a church potluck and only half of the cake made it out because the kitchen helpers helped themselves over and over. We had to make a substitution as did not have any cranberry - flavor liqueur so she simmered fresh cranberries with a bit of water until they reduced enough to strain syrup off - it worked and the cake came out beautiful. I was stopped by many requesting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TBURBANK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Moist and delicious, even without the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
One of my favorite recipes--only difference is that mine calls for 1 tablespoon soda in place of 1 teaspoon each soda and baking powder. Even people who do not like fruit cake usually like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States