Grandmas Cowboy Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
These are addictive! After reading some of the reviews I did make a few slight changes. I left out the coconut and nuts and used one cup of chocolate chips and one cup of peanut butter chips. I also used a cup of real salted butter and half a cup of butter flavored shortening instead of the half butter/half shortening. I sent my guy to his job the next morning with 4 dozen cookies and he came home with an empty container. The recipe makes a lot of cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNIE2SHU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Got two thumbs up on this one. A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Great cookies. There's a lot going on in them, but tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I made these today and followed the recipe as printed. Delicious cookies and makes over 4 dozen depending on the size you like. I baked about 12 minutes. Will make them many times more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Maine, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Great, everything cookie - quite sweet so I might back off on the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brush Prairie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This cookie turned out great. I did change a few things. I didn't use cream of tarter (ran out of it) or walnuts. I did use crunchy peanut butter and the peanuts were a nice touch. I am a big fan of coconut and I added 1 1/2 cups of flaked coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
YUMMO! These are incredible! Moist & flavorful! I added 1/2 cup white chocolate chips & used chunky peanut butter! MMMMM! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe & making me a "Cookie-Master"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
These. Are. Incredible. I substituted pecans for walnuts and Hershey's extra dark cocoa for regular because these were what I had on hand. The cookies did not "melt" into a flat shape; they pretty much held their shape, flattening just slightly when baking. They are delicately crisp, yet the coconut adds a delightful chewiness and the chocolate is melty and gooey and wonderful. I can detect just a hint of the peanut butter, but it's a nice balance of flavors. I will definitely be making this one again. And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Good idea, but too sweet and not salty enough. Next time I'll try to use 1 1/4 C sugar instead, as well as 1/2 tsp. salt. I like my cookies less sweet and more flavorful though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
These are Great! I've only used regular chocolate chips since that's all I've had. But I think they would be even better with mini chips. I usually add more flour and lengthen the cooking time as a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States