Grandma's Corn Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This is my go-to recipe for Thanksgiving. My grandmother used to make it, and I never got her recipe before she passed away. Thanks to Allrecipes com, I can recreate her dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Reeves

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and after following the tips of others, it was awesome and a keeper. I used a flat dish like suggested and it was perfect! I also made the following changes based upon the suggestion of others: Because I too like to make foods that are healthy and low fat, I used a combination of 2 eggs and 3/4 cup egg substitute and used 1% milk. I also added 5 T of cornbread mix to add texture and added a little nutmeg and cinnamon. Mixing the corn starch with the milk before adding was a great suggestion. My guests loved this including 6 children under 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SAsdourian
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Surprisingly good. I tried it on a whim and it's amazing. I used heavy whipping cream instead of milk and I whisked the corn starch in the cream before adding to the egg mixture which saved on five minutes of whisking. My family loves this recipe and it's a great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Made this for the first time, followed the recipe as written and it turned out great. A perfect contribution for a Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
The perfect recipe for delicious, simple corn pudding. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
loved this!!! used 3 eggs only, subbed one tablespoon of brown sugar out of the 1/4. sprinkled nutmeg over the top before baking. Cooked it 15 mins longer than called for. Family loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Finally! This is the perfect recipe! I also substituted 1/2 cup flour for the corn starch and added salt and pepper. Wonderful for Our Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie White Haas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Was the hit of Thanksgiving. Like other posters mention, it is more of a custard than what you would get from the recipes that have corn meal in it. I personally prefer the more cakey style but everyone raved over this recipe and wanted it. I made exactly as recipe stated with the addition of a bit of vanilla extract, bc it suited my taste. I think it will be a holiday request from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
taking some tweaking, started with basic recipe, added 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, used frozen corn with jalapeno pepper, 4 eggs, not 5, substituted sour cream for milk, added 1 cup of shredded sharp cheddar. was a hit today but I will continue to tweak, actually want to switch to 9x9" glass casserole vs. 9x13, looking for more moisture - a blend of 'pudding' and 'souffle'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULINAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
my mother in law use to make these for every occasion.. So I tweaked it to taste more like hers. I used 3 eggs instead of 5.. 3/4 cup of sugar and instead of cornstarch we use jiffy corn muffin mix. This is an amazing side and definitely a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States