Grandma's Corn Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
I like to try and make things low-fat and healthy so I take recipes I like and alter them. This was a perfect example. I used 1 egg and 4 eggs worth of egg substitute. Butter is still healthier than margarine so I stuck with that. I also sprayed the dish with no-fat cooking spray. This dish STILL comes out fantastic and much more lowfat and heart-healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
682 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Galloway, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
The only thing I changed was that I only used 3 eggs and I thought it was AMAZING! When I ate it, I did add salt, but I'm a huge salt lover so that's totally a "to taste" thing. For those people who made comments about how this was "too much corn"... it's called CORN PUDDING... of course there's a lot of corn! If you don't like corn, this recipe isn't for you! If you like corn... enjoy, it's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
596 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe if you are looking for a true sweet corn pudding that has a custardy consistency. When I made it, I discovered at the last second that I had no cornstarch, so I substituted 1/2 cup flour and it still came out great. I also substituted frozen corn for the canned corn kernels -- just filled up one of the empty creamed corn cans as a measure, and added 1 tsp. salt. It does make a LOT, however, and is not easy to cut in half since it calls for 5 eggs, so it would be best for a crowd. Absolutely delicious and addictive; even my son who doesn't eat vegetables had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
534 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I gave this three stars because the recipe should state that it needs to be made in a FLAT 2 quart casserole. The first time I made it, I used a flat casserole and it turned out perfect. My mom made it for christmas dinner this past week, but used a bowl type casserole and baked it for the full amount of time and it was very very runny. It looked like it was cooked through until we served it. Very disappointing the second time, but I will continue making it using my flat dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
416 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This is a great recipe. I made it once for Thanksgiving and now my family asks me to make it every year! One way to make it even easier is to combine the cold milk and the cornstarch and stir out the lumps before adding to the egg mixture. This saves about 5 minutes of whisking. Other than that I make the recipe completely unaltered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
This is one of those trick recipes that makes people believe you are an old country cook who really knows your way around the kitchen. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this as directed and it was excellent! Thanks to reviewers who offered preparation tips, I mixed the cornstarch easily with the cold milk before adding the butter and sugar. I melted the butter ahead of time, so I could add it at room temperature. I also took the eggs out of the frig about an hour earlier so all ingredients would be about the same temp. I added a pinch or two of ground nutmeg, as an earlier reviewer recommended. I used the best ingredients I could find, including Green Giant White Shoepeg Corn, which is vacuum packed in the can and crunchy like fresh--with no fluid to drain off. I substituted one tablespoon of the sugar with dark brown sugar, and baked the pudding in a flat Corning casserole, a rounded rectangle measuring 11 by 9 by 3. It cooked beautifully---and in 50 minutes! Looked like the photo, and tasted like my departed grandma's! Not too sweet, packed with corn, held together with a tender sweet custard! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
I was surprised when the dish came out of the oven because I was expecting something more like corn pudding instead of a just corn side dish. There's nothing in the recipie that adds a bread-y layer you'd normally find. It's a good recipie, but not necessarily one for corn pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
yes! I live in Cambodia so I needed to find a recipe that would not have complicated ingredients, not cost a fortune, and not waste my ingredients by tasting bad. This was the first thanks giving meal ever for many of the people we invited over. Several people brought food but this dish was the TOP PICK for the night! Everyone wanted to know how to make it and now I have to make it for Christmas and probably every other event too! We couldn't buy can corn so I bought cooked street vender type corn and cut it off the cob measured in the cream style can.. it was just right. Not egg-y like some reviews said. sweet and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This wasn't what I was looking for. It was a little to "eggy" for me. Kind of like a corn quiche. I had some corn pudding at a party the other evening and it was more firm and didn't have so much egg taste. I'll keep looking. This wasn't bad, just not what I wanted. I'll see how the left overs taste tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States