Grandma's Corn Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
TOO EGGY. My aunt makes a corn casserole for Thanksgiving that is absolutely scrumptious! Positively one of the best things I have ever eaten and definitely on my top five list for favorite foods. BUT I DON'T HAVE THE RECIPE!!! Aahh! My mother originally had it, but gave it to my aunt to make, now I have to wait for it to come back around to our house. But I couldn't wait, I needed to find the recipe STAT, so I came to almighty Allrecipes.com and found a few options. I knew this particular recipe was NOT what I was looking for, but decided it couldn't hurt to try and thought I might actually like it better than what my aunt made.... NOPE. It is definitely too eggy. I'm not sure if it's my oven or what, but the hour was a little much. The sides crisped up in no time and by fourty-five minutes I was pulling it out of the oven wondering if it was supposed to be so brown on the edges. The flavor was bland anyway and there was a little too much corn in my opinion. Next time - there wont be a next time, but I mean hypothetically - less eggs and the 11 oz can of whole kernel corn should do just fine. To substitute a subraction of eggs, I've found many alternative recipes that use either more milk, heavy cream, cream cheese, or sour cream. Honestly, though, I highly recommend a corn casserole instead of corn pudding. The flavor is out of this world and it's all around a better dish. You just have to find the right recipe. I'll be back when I find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made this dish yesterday, EXACTLY how written, as a side dish for my Thanksgiving Feast, and oh my Lord, is it delicious!!! Absolutely perfect! A TRUE pudding of corn. My only regret is to get on the scales, I can't stop eating it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made this recipe to the exact recipe. It was a hit! Absolutely delicious. Great custard like texture! It baked for about 1 hour 15 minutes to brown the edges
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
DRAIN THE REGULAR CANNED CORN... Yum.yum. Will use again.. Thanksgiving 2012
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
OK I watched the video. The recipe calls for two cans of cream corn, but in the video she states "add one can cream corn." So which is it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I've had this recipe bookmarked and have made it every Thanksgiving for the past several years. It's perfect just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I followed this recipe to the letter and was so pleased with the results! The top browned nicely, and the pudding was a nice, sweet custard, just like what I used to have at family gatherings. I baked it an extra 5 minutes and it was not watery at all. This one is definitely a keeper! fyi, I did use a flat 2 quart casserole, as some reviewers recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I made this in the toaster oven because I'm trying to free up space in the regular oven for Thanksgiving. In the toaster oven, 400 degrees browned it up really quickly, so I kept an eye on it and turned it down to 250 for the last 10 minutes. It still cooked up beautifully and was not a bit watery-- this makes a nice, smooth custard if that's what you want in a corn pudding. If I make it again I will add nutmeg and vanilla. [Yes, much tastier with these latter additions.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Excellent! My only changes were that I used only 4 eggs, only 1 Tbsp of corn starch and Half and Half instead of milk. This recipe is truly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
The flavor was really good, just not the consistency - it was too runny and I even drained the corn. I did use a regular bowl type casserole dish though, so that I'm sure was the problem. The next time I do make this I will take the advice of another reviewer and use a flat 2-quart casserole dish instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States