Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Love this recipe! I don't peel the potatoes because that's where all the nutrients is. That's about all I changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cutie Pie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Spot on! Many thanks poster for this one. It turns out beautifully just as is. Simple to make and easy. The only small change I made was I added a tsp or so of cooking oil as the bacon I had was not putting out much in the way of drippings. Everything else was perfect. Awesome flavor. Will definitely be making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Rudolph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Good recipe, but I like when I used frozen corn instead of canned corn. Also, I needed to some how make it thicker. Other than that it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
My picky family enjoyed it immensely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa S Crow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Great for hurricane weather
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Wow!this corn chowder tastes exactly like the one I ate in elementary. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This recipe produces a creamy and rich corn chowder. It's great as is or with embellishments. I added 3 ears of fresh corn, chicken broth instead of water and just one cup of half and half. No bacon but did have some organic bacon drippings for sautéing. I used a Cuisinart immersion blender on approx. 1 cup of the soup and added it back in before adding the half and half. This method always produces a creamy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lace
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Making it for the 2nd time this week!! Everyone loves it! I make it exactly to recipe but also add a can of regular sweet corn and chicken broth instead of water! FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Arsenault

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Yummy and easy for this novice cook. I peeked at some of the others recipes since I don't eat meat and used 1/2 c of coconut oil and 2 tsp of thyme for extra flavor. I'm making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Phillips

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Was extremely good.. I to added chicken stock instead of water. I also added 4 cloves of garlic and mushrooms. While cooking the potatoes n such I also added about 1/2 of margerine.. Goes very well with my grand mothers buttermilk bisquits as well :) I also used all the bacon grease I had left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Moffatt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States