Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
It was really good. we substituded the bakin drippings for vegetable oil and worked the same. the potatoes added good texture to it. i would definitly recomend this recipe. * ME LIKE COOKIES*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
This chowder was a big hit at a church dinner! I modified the recipe by mixing everything together in a large crock pot and cooked overnight. I followed the directions of adding the half and half at the end. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
358 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Quantico, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Great corn chowder recipe. I didn't use the crumbled bacon, but did use the bacon grease for flavor. I used cream corn. Next time I will use broth instead of water. I probably won't eat this often for health reasons, but I'm glad to have the recipe. It tasted good the next day warmed in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Excellant ! I did use Mc Cormick's Bacon Bits in a little veg oil in place of the bacon/drippings. I also used to cans of creamed corn and added some leftover corn off the cobb. My family all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
My whole family loved this. I have been searching for a good corn chowder recipe.My friends and I eat at this tea room that serves corn chowder and we wanted the recipe and this definatley rates. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I LOVED this! I will be making it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Awesome! Always a favorite when the cupboard bears not much more than that can'o cream corn!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Hans

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Very good recipe. I also used broth instead of water and I added sliced carrots and celery, and when I served it I topped it with grated cheese. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Batovsky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I thought this recipe was very good. We used vegetable oil instead of bacon and it still turned out great, so if anyone wants a vegetarian freindly version i sugest using oil.The taste was very good and the potatos added great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Very Yummy! I love corn chowder and this tasted just like mom's! I substituted chicken broth for water, but otherwise didn't change a thing. Everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States