Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I thought this recipe was very good. We used vegetable oil instead of bacon and it still turned out great, so if anyone wants a vegetarian freindly version i sugest using oil.The taste was very good and the potatos added great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
It was really good. we substituded the bakin drippings for vegetable oil and worked the same. the potatoes added good texture to it. i would definitly recomend this recipe. * ME LIKE COOKIES*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
This chowder was a big hit at a church dinner! I modified the recipe by mixing everything together in a large crock pot and cooked overnight. I followed the directions of adding the half and half at the end. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Quantico, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This was a great starter recipe for me. I didn't use bacon. I substituted chicken stock for the water. I added chicken, green bell peppers, and substituted fresh corn for canned. I made a roux with butter and flour to thicken it. After adding the heavy cream and a pinch of nutmeg, I had a soup that got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Awesome! Always a favorite when the cupboard bears not much more than that can'o cream corn!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Hans

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Excellant ! I did use Mc Cormick's Bacon Bits in a little veg oil in place of the bacon/drippings. I also used to cans of creamed corn and added some leftover corn off the cobb. My family all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
My whole family loved this. I have been searching for a good corn chowder recipe.My friends and I eat at this tea room that serves corn chowder and we wanted the recipe and this definatley rates. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I LOVED this! I will be making it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This recipe was great. I didn't change anything except I put a bit more corn due to the size of the cans. Whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Great corn chowder recipe. I didn't use the crumbled bacon, but did use the bacon grease for flavor. I used cream corn. Next time I will use broth instead of water. I probably won't eat this often for health reasons, but I'm glad to have the recipe. It tasted good the next day warmed in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States