Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Perfect base for your corn-chowder whims, easy, and super yummy? This recipe is made of win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 767

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
like others i used chicken broth instead of water . i also used 1 can of evaporated milk and the rest regular milk and i used frozen corn not cream style (as it was what i had at the moment) and i added a tsp of thyme and a spoonful of butter . i ate the whole thing!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I make this recipe just like it's written a few times per month and it is DELICIOUS! I don't change a thing except, I think I tend to leave a little more of the bacon fat in the pot than 2 tablespoons. Since I usually halve the recipe I just cook 3 strips of bacon for a half recipe and I leave all of the bacon fat in the pot that accumulates and then I go on to the next step and add the potatoes and onions which I cook in the bacon grease like the recipe says too. Great recipe and I had never made any kind of chowder until I made this so it's really easy too. You will love it guaranteed. It'll become a favorite, no doubt in my mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Made this with regular corn and no dairy at all. Used 3 cups of chicken broth instead of water. I also pureed about 3 cups of it. Saved the crumbled bacon to sprinkle on top after ladling it into bowls. We loved it! Next time, I'll cut the potatoes much smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I have made this recipe dozens of times for my husband and he just keeps requesting it. It's fantastic just the way it is. I found no need for adjustments. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Made as written but exchanged chicken stock for water and used mixture of froz corn/creamed corn. Also added ham, red pepper & bay leaf. Used milk instead of half/half and added a little less so the soup was thicker. This was really good, the kids even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Attention Vegetarians! I made this without the bacon, and it was great. I used a purple onion and vegetable broth in place of the water for more flavor. I used 1 cup 1/2 and 1/2, and one cup So Delicious Coconut Milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pink, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I used a small package of bacon, added a sprinkle of garlic powder and significantly reduced the onion. Two cans of creamed corn and one can of whole kernel corn. Would have liked to add a third of the creamed corn but figured I wanted to taste the end results and may opt to do that next time. Also used the fat free half and half. Liked this and will make it again -with the addition of that third can of creamed corn. I just prefer a bit thicker consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Absolutely delicious and much healthier once I made 4 changes. 1. Low sodium chicken broth instead of water. 2. Use a bag of frozen corn instead of creamed. 3. Use canadian bacon instead of greasy bacon 4. 1/2 cup of half-and-half plus a 1 1/2 cup 0% Greek yogurt. Really cuts down on the calories and still tastes rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laplander

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
My new FAVORITE soup recipe! It's the perfect meal on a cold blustery day. Did ham instead of bacon and added grilled chicken! Super easy to make and my family devoured it! Served with warm homemade rolls and salad! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States