Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This recipe is easy to make and it is delicious. It is so fast that is has become a regular in our household. The only change I made was adding cornstarch to the mixture, after adding the cream. I prefer my soups thick and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This was awesome chowder,Ive always loved corn chowder however, This was the first time making it. This was so easy to make. I added a teaspoon of bacon drippings. The flavor was perfect.I must say it was better the next day when reheated :). This is a recipe that I will pass down to my kids and grandkids, Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I love this recipe as a basis for what it can become. First off, I replaced the water with chicken broth. I only added one can of cream of corn and add the rest with frozen corn. ( I added a lot because I love it thick!)Then I added one package of KNORR Vegetable Recipe Mix. I also substituted Heavy whipping cream instead of half and half. I only added a half a cup of that. It turned out Amazing! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Love this recipe and have been using it for a couple years. I've made some modifications: 3 cans of creamed corn, 2 cans of sweet corn, chicken broth substituted for the water and several more potatoes. (My family loves a hearty meal!) It tastes delicious and the leftovers never last long!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This was a fantastic base for a chicken corn chowder my husband and I wanted to make. We mostly followed the instructions, but instead of using bacon I used ghee to saute the vegetables. I also added baby carrots, a rotisserie chicken and some diced bell pepper. I used 1 can of cream corn and 1 can of regular corn. Instead of cooking everything in water I used chicken broth. It was hit all around, and we had enough soup to last us for days! Thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diochick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Ringgold, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Awesome! I'm super busy btwn full time job, my AdvoCare bzn, and family of 5 BLUE. I just threw everything in the crockpot: potatoes onions and cut raw bacon stirred with water to cover, then creamed corn on top. Put it on low overnight and it turned out fabulous this morning. Just got to add in coconut milk (dairy free/less calories) when I get home and we're good to go for a great rainy day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjswanson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I've used this recipe for several years now. I initially took the advice of other posters and used chicken stock instead of water and I used a can of regular corn and two of cream corn. Those were the only changes I made for a long time. For ease, I always buy a packet of real bacon pieces in the salad and then cook that up with some olive oil. Recently, I tried jazzing it up and it was to die for. Instead of olive oil, I used 3T of butter to cook the bacon and used two packets of bacon pieces. I added three cloves of garlic with the onion and used two really humongous potatoes and cooked until they were really soft. From there, I did the chicken stock and one can of corn (undrained), two cans of cream corn. I also added about 1/2t of sage, a bay leaf, a shade of crushed red pepper and a generous amount of pepper. I also don't bother warming the half and half, but just dump in at the end. While doing the 20 min simmer I left the top off to cook off some of the water from the broth and corn. What came out was a savory soup with an amazing flavor to it. Also - this soup gets better after a day in the fridge so it makes a great lunch the day after. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is the chowder that my mom used to make for us growing up... I followed the recipe almost to a tee - just used 2 cans of cream of corn, 1 can of low fat evaporated milk (I don't have any half and half around) 2 cups of low sodium chicken broth and used some slap yo mama cajun spice. It was delish with my knockoff red lobster cheddar biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AkikoGurrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Hanover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Loved the recipe - used chicken broth instead of water. Added 2 T. sugar to add a little boost to the sweet corn. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fjord Horse Lover

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
My family and I love this meal. I used chicken broth instead of water as suggested by others. Also, I used 5 cans of creamed corn and alot more potatoes as we like it a bit more dense then the original receipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States