Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Oh my gosh! Delish! Made vegetarian for my daughter and regular for the rest of us, and sorry vegetarians...you don't know what you're missing! Well, maybe you do, but the bacon makes this soup! The only thing I changed was used veggie stock instead of water and evaporated milk instead of half and half because I didn't have any. It's freaking amazing! You have to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRodMc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I loved it, I make it all the time it really helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I made this exactly as written and it is delicious! Have also used just milk vs half/half and though not quite as creamy it was still very good. This is one of our favorite soups in the winter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This was great soup. The only thing I did differently was to use whole milk instead of the half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This was an awesome recipe! My husband said this dish ranked right up there as one of his all time favorite dishes I've made!! Only change was to use chicken broth instead of water and one leek instead of the onion because we just got leeks from our CSA and I needed to use it. Will be making this in bigger batches next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
My 12 year old LOVED this. I followed the recipe to the letter and it came out wonderful. It is my first time ever making or even seeing corn chowder! Thanks for this easy recipe that I will pass down to my daughter that wants to be a chef:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brightstarr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
So. Much. Corn. I give it 3 stars because my husband liked it enough to eat it, but I just felt like I was eating a bowl of overcooked corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Absolutely fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aceofhearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Creek, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I just finished making ths recipe. Love this corn chowder. I changed a few things to make it my own. Instead of water,I used chicken broth and Instead of half & half, I made a roux with butter and milk. Topped with a little cheddar cheese. I will make it again... soon! Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This was very good, but next time I'll try a few things different. I prefer it with more corn so I added another can of creamed corn. Next time I'll try 2 cans of creamed corn and 1 can regular corn. I also thought it could use a bit more flavor so I'll take others' recommendations and use chicken broth instead of water. But overall it was very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States