Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I made this recipe last night. I changed a couple of things. I used 3 cans of creamed corn, and I used butter in place of bacon fat and I used 1/2 water & 1/2 chicken stock.This was the best corn chowder I have ever made & better than any restaurant.Try it you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Delicious! I used chicken broth instead of water as well, and switched out one potato for a sweet potato. Added extra color and flavor! Approved my all my flatmates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This soup was absolutely fabulous before I added the half and half. It was much more flavorful and thicker like I prefer my soups to be. After I added the half and half I immediately regretted it. Will be making this again. Also, my modifications included adding a chopped cooked chicken breast which I cooked in the bacon grease after cooking the bacon and I added four green onions instead of a whole diced onion. I added more than two tablespoons of the bacon grease as well. Again, would only add maybe half a cup of half and half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Great corn chowder recipe. I gave it four stars only because I did make some changes that other have mentioned that I believe made it a bit better than the recipe as written. First of all, I doubled the bacon for my bacon loving husband. I did as others have mentioned... used chicken stock instead of water and I used two cans of creamed corn and one of regular corn that I did not drain. We really enjoyed this chowder and my husband and son both requested that I make it again. I think this is a very versatile recipe that you could experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftyPancakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I have made this twice using fat free half and half. It is the best!! Makin a batch right now to enjoy during the storm. Great with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I added a little more corn to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Simple, delicious, and hearty! I have also substituted turkey bacon and fat free evaporated milk for a lower fat version and loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Love it. Used chicken stock instead of water and added cayenne pepper for zip. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKTRUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Forest, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shuluva
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I don't always make it with bacon, but it comes out fabulous either way!! My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I substituted 2 cups water and 2 cups half and half for 4 cups milk, because it's what I had on hand, and it worked well! I don't love cream corn so used non-cream. My suggestions: add bacon at the END so it's still crispy, add garlic, ADD THYME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States