Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Diana Simar
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I added fresh thyme and sage alone with using chicken broth instead if water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Thanks for a great recipe! I used homemade chicken stock, and 1 can evaporated milk instead of half/half. Thickened it a bit with 2T cornstarch as we like that consistency. Really flavorful, and was a hit for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIKALA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Make a day ahead of time & the flavors will be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I didn't make any changes to this recipe, and it was delicious! It really tasted like my great grandmother made it. Super easy, and awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Saylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
LOVE THIS RECIPE!! I added a few changes just for personal taste as I was craving a more Hawaiian style corn chowder, but seriously this recipe would be amazing as is.. all I did was use 2 cups creamed corn and subbed the last cup for cream of mushroom soup and added 1 can of sweet corn drained. I also added half a can of diced pan fried spam or u can use Portuguese sausage and since I love a thick chowder, I simmered for 15 minutes longer after adding the half and half with 1/4 cup flour. . Delicious and not a serving left for a family of 6.. we indulged with a loaf of home made garlic bread.. this is a keeper for sure!! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmy Mangus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Just made this today ... I put a twist on it using distilled water and organic half n half as well as himalayan sea salt, it was so simple and easy to make it tasted amazing and my family begged for a second bowl!!! Will def make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven Cassidy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I made this recipe as directed, and it was fantastic. The chowder was creamy without being heavy, and the salt was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I just tried this tonight. Definitely a keeper! I only had one can of creamed corn so I added two more canfulls of frozen corn. I just used water like the recipe called for and was going to taste and see if it needed chicken bullion but I didn't think that it did so I left it. I did however sprinkle some cheddar cheese on top in my bowl & I liked it so much that I ended up adding about a cup of shredded cheddar cheese to the pot of soup and it was super delicious! I will probably keep it that way in the future. I couldn't get enough of this soup and will definitely be making it regularly. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Made this today it was so good! Perfect for a cold day! The boyfriend love it. Definitely will keep this in my winter menu !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Roberts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Everyone but Matthew liked this soup. I'd make it earlier in the day and let the flavors meld together more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States