Grandma's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
my first time making corn chowder and it came out great! i substituted the water for chicken broth and also used a redbell pepper when frying the onion i also had a leftover baked potatoe from yesterday and i smashed it(almost pureed it) and added it to ticken the chowder.... great recipe! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this chowder! Make it and people will RAVE and ask you for the recipe. It's tasty the way it is, but I did customize the recipe for my family. Instead of half and half, we use heavy whipping cream. We double the bacon and save half of it to use as a garnish later. We also add finely chopped parsley at the end to add color. If you want to thicken the chowder, make a roux of 2 TBS of butter and 2 TBS of flour. Mix and simmer in a small pot for a few minutes......then add a ladle of liquid from the broth to the roux.....it will expand and thicken. Do this two more times, then transfer the roux to the pot of chowder and gently mix well. Do this before you add the parsley. It's perfectly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Awesome! I doubled the batch for my family of 3 teenage boys and my BF and I. It made plenty and they all raved about it. It's a keeper. Although next time I think I need to put in some protein, like ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Corn chowder is a childhood comfort food for me, but it never tasted this good! Followed the prep directions exactly, but changed some of the ingredients. I doubled the bacon (1 cup), added fresh corn, subbed water for chicken broth, and added a touch of store bought demi glace. Also, loaded it up with freshly cracked pepper, topped it with fresh cilantro and a touch of sour cream. These small changes made for an exquisite bowl of comfort. I froze it to see if it would keep for later, but it just didn't taste the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Good quick recipe. I changed the servings to 2, didn't have bacon, but had two slices of prosciutto whick I chopped and fried as bacon. Didn't have creamed corn, but frozen corn worked well. Used half & half and about 1 TBLS butter and mashed the potatoes a little to thicken slightly. Also added some nutmeg (fresh grated) at the end-just a touch. Very good despite not having the exact ingredients. This was a really quick homemade chowder and I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Perfect for a New England rainy day! Good consistency - not too thick and not too watery. Biscuits on the side were the perfect addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Loved this recipe. I did change it a little...used 2 cans creamed corn and one whole kernels. Also used half and half and chicken broth and 2 tbsp curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I felt this needed some flour to thicken it up. Otherwise it tasted fine. I topped it with cheddar and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
It was very good. I did like some of the others did and subed chicken broth for water. I also used two cans of cream corn and a half can of mexican corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States