Grandma's Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This wasn't my mama's recipe, but it came really close. I had to cook it a little longer than the recipe requires because it was really wet after only 30 min in the oven. Mama always put the turkey gizzards in her dressing, but my hubby forgot to remove them before putting the bird on the grill, so I had to improvise and I used spicy ground sausage. I'll definitely make it again, but I'll use less sage if I decide to put sausage in it again. In short, I wasn't home for the holidays, but I didn't mind. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krissy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made this dressing for Thanksgiving. Turned out great. Everybody loved it. I used the stock from the turkey when mixing the ingredients together. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonya j

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving, but i made my own cornbread and used that plus cream of chicken soup, sauteed the onions and celery and it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chiky80s
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I agree with Cranrecipes... The recipe calls for way too much Sage. I will only use 1 tablepoon next time. Also the dish was too big. I will use a square pan in the future or double the recipe when using a 9x13. One other thing. The recipe says to use a 16 ounce package of cornbread mix. They usually come in 6 ounces. I made two bags and only needed half the cornbread, so 1- 6 ounce bag would have been plenty. Maybe that was a typo along with the dish size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I like this recipe because it is easy to tweak. I have gluten free people in my family. So I make gluten free corn bread mix and add thyme, sage, salt and pepper to the corn bread. I also use fresh herbs instead of dried to give it more color, but you need more. My family loves it and appreciate the efforts to accommodate their dietary needs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Very tasty. I followed the recipe exactly, but used onion salt and garlic salt for more flavor. I love it! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I think this was a great recipe beside this was my first time cooking dressing, and I think I did a wonderful job at it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kempgirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Used vegetable broth due to being vegetarian. Only other difference I made was that I used one tablespoon of poultry seasoning, no sage, and it was perfect! Went ahead and used Jiffy mix, two boxes, and it was great. So happy to finally have found an excellent stuffing without meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
We use the southern cornbread mix as well as mexican cornbread and the Jiffys,It is wonderful. A meal unto itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Loved It! My modification: accidentally bought veg broth and went ahead & used it. Added 4 slices of bread crumbled and a bit more broth just to make it a soupy texture (before putting in oven), as we like our dressing more moist than dry. Tasted just like my mom & grandmas recipe! The whole family LOVED it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States