Grandma's Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Tasty, but pasty! I must have done something wrong. This never set up. After 30 minutes of cooking it was still soupy. After 2 1/2 hours it was still pasty. The flavor was quite good, but since I have no idea what I did wrong, I won't make it again. Looking for another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner and it was delicious! I did use the Jiffy brand corn muffin mix, but made 2 boxes of that instead of one. Increased the celery/onions to about 1 1/2 cups total. Used 3 eggs and cut back on the sage to 1 teaspoon. Used approx. 3 cups of chicken stock. Turned out great and everyone loved it! Will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made this today as part of our Thanksgiving meal. Everyone one loved it! I used 2 boxes 8.5oz of Jiffy cornbread mix & used 1 tbl. of rubbed sage. I wasn't sure how much sage to add because I didn't know the difference between dried sage & rubbed sage. I found out all "rubbed" means is that it is crumbled. Next time I make it I will add Jimmy Deans sage sausage. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Used this recipe this year. Made my cornbread with stone ground corn meal and no sugar. No changes other than seasoning to taste.. and it turned out perfectly. Thanks for sharing! This was exactly the taste of dressing from my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is an excellent recipe for a small get together. I added a little more sage,a cup of shredded chicken breast, the rest of the corn bread, and an additional quarter cup broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I have lived my whole life in the South and this recipe is similar to the way my family has made cornbread dressing for generations. We don't saute the onions and celery because they cook in the dressing. We always use stock from the turkey, so be sure to put a little water in the pan where you roast the turkey or else make some homemade stock. The canned stuff doesn't cut it. Pour the stock, the amount depends on the amount of cornbread and biscuit you have. I always add a few biscuits. Crumble the cornbread fine. When the stock has soaked into the cornbread add the eggs, onions, and celery and then add buttermilk until the dressing makes a batter. Put in some sage and wait a while and then taste. Sage gets stronger when it sets. Add some dryed basil,garlic, salt and black pepper,and refrigerate overnight. Bake at 400 and baste with butter several times as the dressing cooks. When you take it out of the refrigerator you might have to add some more liquid because it tends to soak in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Arnoldsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I did not like it for the fact that it is too dry and has too much sage, so what I did was added bell peppers in my sauté or if you do not like to cut up fresh veggies you can just buy the seasoning blend bag in your grocery store freezer and I used 1 box of Jiffy mix and then I use the same box and measured my white corn meal to cut the sugar from the Jiffy. As an added bonus, I add 1 box of stove top to my cornbread mixture and I add broth from boiling chicken thighs or leg quarters ( any other meat causes dryness)...I do not use eggs at all. Because the Stove top has seasoning in it, I don't added any salt and pepper but I do sprinkle poultry and sage seasoning on the top of the mixture and then mix in. I also add a can of milk. For added broth if it is too stiff I add chicken broth. I have made this dressing for three years and every year someone wants me to make them a pan or give them the recipe. I think I will post it soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is almost the recipe I use, except I make two batches of homemade cornbread in my cast iron skillet. I mince the celery and onion instead of chopping it, and I do like my Granny always did, add in a can of cream of chicken soup! After you crumble the cornbread then add in the butter/veggies (I use one stick butter.) add the can of soup, the the chicken stock. After mixing, the mixture should look almost like pancake batter. If it's not really wet, you'll have dry dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
That is way too much sage. I have made this recipe for years and never use over 1/2 teaspoon or it is overwhelming. I do use the dried, rubbed sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Cornbread dressing has been in my family for generations. The only difference in ours is that they would boil a chicken breast and chop it real fine and mix it in. They would also add a little bet of poultry seasoning too. I fix it every year too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States