Grandma's Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I get most of my recipes from this website. I can honestly say that this one was the worst. I made it yesterday for Thanksgiving, took one bite, asked my hubby to take a bite and we decided that is was too bad to serve to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Plainsboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was delicious!! I cannot have a lot of wheat so cornbread was terrific for me. I doubled the recipe but since my cornbread was too moist, I still only used 2 eggs and 1 cup of broth. I used sage, salt and pepper to taste (before adding eggs and broth). Since my batch was larger and quite moist, the dressing needed at least 45 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mieshka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
8/10 at our Thanksgiving dinner last night did not care for it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
love this recipe. I have made it this way before but would forget little things from time to time. My grandmother would put either creamed corn or whole kernel sweet corn in hers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
The recipe was good. I doubled it to fill the 9x13 pan. I also doubled all of the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Great!!! Every year I make stove top but this year my husband mention he misses his grandma' dressing. I'm sure his grandma was a great cook. So I wanted to surprise him and made this dish and he LOVED IT!! He absolutely loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is very similar to my recipe. I do add a tiny bit of chopped fresh rosemary and a touch of garlic powder. Sometimes I will brown hot Jimmy Dean breakfast sausage (about 1/2 lb.) and mix it in. It adds a great flavor. I also find it comes out better if I bake the cornbread itself a couple of days in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Weshiwan
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I doubled the recipe. I also toasted the cornbread under the broiler after chopping it up so it wouldn't be so mushy after adding everything to it. I can't wait to eat it with the turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This was excellent! Every bite was gone. I doubled the recipe, with the exception of eggs. I only used 3. I also used very little celery and leeks instead of onions, but that is just our preference. Also used chopped fresh sage (3 tbsp). I poured a little extra chicken stock over it after it was in the pan, and stirred once during cooking. I will make this every Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I grew up making cornbread dressing, but I just don't have the patience to make the cornbread, THEN make the dressing... this recipe combined with a cornbread dressing mix has made cornbread dressing easy enough for me. In my family, the key to a good cornbread dressing was to get the cornbread, vegetables, and eggs cooked (we would hardboil the eggs ahead of time) so that you could get everything dumped together (in step 4) and "season it to taste"... (which meant "eat most of it before it even makes it in the oven"). This recipe is good enough that there was very little seasoning needed before it was to my taste... I like a little garlic in mine and a little more onion, I also added about a cup of extra water to get all the flavors to mix correctly, but before I knew it, I was fighting the urge to eat your unbaked dressing by the forkfull... I'll try to remember to post again after I try the cooked product and I will definitely hang on to this recipe so I can use it again at Christmas time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States