Grandma's Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
This has been the best version I have found, made it for my office party and they went gaga, the key is to chop onions and celery in proceesor so find that the dressing is smooth. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I made a few modifications to make it more like my Grandma's recipe - increased celery to 1 cup, added 3/4 cup chopped bell pepper, 1/2 tsp. poultry seasoning + large pinch of sage, 1 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. pepper, and used the entire mix of cornbread instead of 3 cups as it says (Jiffy brand comes in 8 1/2 oz. boxes - use 2 boxes). Wow, what a hit with my crowd! I found it easy to bake it for 30 minutes the night before, refrigerate, let it come to room temperature, then bake it 10-15 minutes before serving is perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
the recipe is just wonderful as is. I dont understand the users below who "made a few modifications". Then, its a whole new recipe, not this one so your review really wasnt necessary. I love Grandma's Dressing, thanks Gama!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Wonderful. Everyone loved it. I cut down on the sage just a tad, as I'm a little less sage-friendly personally. Stuffed the turkey, baked the rest separate, and came out great. Moist, flavorful, and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This was wonderful...but I had to make some changes. The original recipe calls for making ALOT of cornbread and then only asks you to use 3 cups of it, which would have only made 1/2 a pan of dressing anyway. I doubled the amount of cornbread (since there was more than enough there) and doubled everything else too. I also added one can of cream of celery soup. It was YUMMY!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNDERAE
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
I loved it- I added sausage & fresh mushrooms-it was awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNDERAE
Reviewed: May 23, 2001
I added cooked chicken to this and it worked out perfect. I like mine with a lot of sage so I just added more. It was great. Tasred just like granny's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This year was the first year that I didn't use Stovetop Stuffing. I made this cornbread stuffing and it was great, and really easy to make. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
Very good. I omitted the celery. I used two 7.5 ounce packages of cornbread mix and probably only needed one. I also might make it in a smaller pan next time for thicker dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Wonderful! I made this for Thanksgiving, turned out perfect, very easy for first time dressing makers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States