Grandma's Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
It was really good. I did use Jiffy mix. It was still good, but would have been better with corn meal without sugar. I used one tbsp more of sage and that really added to it. I also put a little bit more chicken stock in it and it had an awesome texture to it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Did this for the first Christmas when we brined out turkey...one of best dinners ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I used buttermilk corn bread mix which I baked it in a 9 inch cast iron skillet the day before. This amount worked well when I made the dressing the next day in a 9x13 baking dish. I also added 1/2 pound of browned crumbled breakfast sausage. Very nice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made this with Gluten Free corn bread & it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Nobody I know uses a boxed mix because they contain sugar and that's a "sin" to a Southerner. I made my cornbread from scratch. It was pretty good, but too crumbly to me. Will use more broth and egg next time. Also add more celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolagyrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I used jiffy instead of the non sweet corn bread. it was very good and was a hit at thanksgiving. I used about 4 cups of jiffy instead of 3 so it wouldn't be as runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was a huge hit at our Thanksgiving dinner! My family and guests truly enjoyed it and wanted more even though I doubled the recipe!! Easy recipe to follow, I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
My granny is very picky about dressing. Normally we purchase dressing from a restaurant on Thanksgiving, but I decided to make it this year. I followed the directions exactly except I had chicken broth rather than chicken stock. For cornbread I used the recipe on the back of a bag of cornmeal. I thought the recipe was perfect. I wouldn't change a thing. Even granny approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheddabizcuit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This turned out great. Made it for Thanksgiving and it got raved reviews. I chopped the celery and onions very fine and cooked them well. Also I used 1 teaspoon of ground sage. As for the corn bread, I used 2 boxes of jiffy and added 1 tablespoon of sugar. I baked it the night before. I used most of the corn bread to make the dressing. Use one can of chicken broth with between 1/4 & 1/2 cup of water. It will turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States