Grandma's Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
We make Corn Bread stuffing all the time. I make it the same way as the recipe states, the only difference is that I use Jiffy CB mix and I haven't tried it with sage. I think I will add sage to see what it taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin for 4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This sounds like my grandma's dressing except she added cayenne pepper, gives it a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I have a recipe I have used for 35 years that is similar and uses poultry seasoning in place of the sage uses pepper but no salt. The broth usually has enough salt in it without extra. I am the only one in the family that does the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I have made what is essentially a version of this for about 40 years versus my mothers bread and giblet dressing. I do however usually add southern style smoked sausage run through a food processor or chopped fine (about 1 to 1 1/2 # for a recipe this size) and would often add a half pint of oysters with juice to the food processor (or diced fine)to enhance flavor. I stuff the bird which makes for a richer and moister dressing and pan up what won't fit in the bird to cook for the last half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
My family has been making this recipe for decades. We have modified it some throughout the years. We use at least two whole corn breads (We usually have 5 or more people and we like having leftovers). We do not add all the sage at once. You can add some, taste it after mixing it in, and then add more if needed. Sometimes if we are in a hurry, instead of adding spices, we will add a bag of Pepperidge farms dressing corn bread bag. They are full of great spices and it goes along very well with the rest of the ingredients in this recipe. It also adds more texture. It's a hit every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This is a really great recipe. My family is from the South and this is the only way we make cornbread dressisng. My mom however never used boxed cornbread mix. Our cornbread was always made from "scratch". You can also add chopped mushrooms, a can of cream of mushroom soup and some cooked porked sausage, crumbled into the mixture. It's great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Instead of the beaten eggs my family always uses diced, boiled eggs. This was my Grandma's recipe. It's always good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I have made this recipe for over 40 years and I'm so glad to see it called DRESSING and not stuffing. I always buy new sage each year because dried varieties can lose their flavor. Be careful how much you put in as it can become stonger with cooking.I put lots of chicken stock so it won't dry out with cooking and always make my cornbread from scratch. I add about 10 cooked bisquits torn into small pieces for better texture. Make it a day ahead and refrigerate so you can just pop it in the oven when the turkey is almost ready. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I was very curious about this recipe and amazed when I read it. This recipe has been in the Texas side of my family for over 75 years. Some may think the amount of sage is a little too much but for us the sage makes the difference. The only slight difference was my Grandmother would also add a few crumbled slices of stale white bread. Everything else is identical. This dressing is on my menu every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fergie54

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This recipe is a lot like the one my family uses (my grandmas). Only the chicken stock they're asking for is from the chicken we boil, and shred up to put in the dressing. And we bake our corn bread in a cast iron skillet. Green onion is good in it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States