Grandma's Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Use FRESH sage! I use a little less than 1/4 cup (coarsely chopped). When you saute the onions and celery, add the sage at the end and saute for another minute. Fresh sage makes all the difference! People who say they hate sage will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
very tasty! Made it for the holidays, so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I used the Grandma's Cornbread recipe as my base, then followed the recipe with a few amendments. I used Fit & Active chicken broth from Aldi, added 3 T of sage and made sure not to over mix. Once I combined everything, I added one can of cream of chicken soup and one can of cream of mushroom soup. The result was the best dressing I ever made. Normally my dressing gets stiff and you have to add milk to loosen it up for leftovers. Not now. The consistency was perfect. Again, don't over mix it. I lightly greased my dutch oven and baked it it the oven covered for 20 min, then uncovered for another 15. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This wasn't my mama's recipe, but it came really close. I had to cook it a little longer than the recipe requires because it was really wet after only 30 min in the oven. Mama always put the turkey gizzards in her dressing, but my hubby forgot to remove them before putting the bird on the grill, so I had to improvise and I used spicy ground sausage. I'll definitely make it again, but I'll use less sage if I decide to put sausage in it again. In short, I wasn't home for the holidays, but I didn't mind. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krissy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made this dressing for Thanksgiving. Turned out great. Everybody loved it. I used the stock from the turkey when mixing the ingredients together. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonya j

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving, but i made my own cornbread and used that plus cream of chicken soup, sauteed the onions and celery and it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chiky80s
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I agree with Cranrecipes... The recipe calls for way too much Sage. I will only use 1 tablepoon next time. Also the dish was too big. I will use a square pan in the future or double the recipe when using a 9x13. One other thing. The recipe says to use a 16 ounce package of cornbread mix. They usually come in 6 ounces. I made two bags and only needed half the cornbread, so 1- 6 ounce bag would have been plenty. Maybe that was a typo along with the dish size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I like this recipe because it is easy to tweak. I have gluten free people in my family. So I make gluten free corn bread mix and add thyme, sage, salt and pepper to the corn bread. I also use fresh herbs instead of dried to give it more color, but you need more. My family loves it and appreciate the efforts to accommodate their dietary needs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Very tasty. I followed the recipe exactly, but used onion salt and garlic salt for more flavor. I love it! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I think this was a great recipe beside this was my first time cooking dressing, and I think I did a wonderful job at it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kempgirl

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 51-60 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States