Grandma's Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I grew up making cornbread dressing, but I just don't have the patience to make the cornbread, THEN make the dressing... this recipe combined with a cornbread dressing mix has made cornbread dressing easy enough for me. In my family, the key to a good cornbread dressing was to get the cornbread, vegetables, and eggs cooked (we would hardboil the eggs ahead of time) so that you could get everything dumped together (in step 4) and "season it to taste"... (which meant "eat most of it before it even makes it in the oven"). This recipe is good enough that there was very little seasoning needed before it was to my taste... I like a little garlic in mine and a little more onion, I also added about a cup of extra water to get all the flavors to mix correctly, but before I knew it, I was fighting the urge to eat your unbaked dressing by the forkfull... I'll try to remember to post again after I try the cooked product and I will definitely hang on to this recipe so I can use it again at Christmas time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Delicious, quick, easy, and soooo tasty! Perfect for smaller households or couples who don't need as many servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Made it with gluten free cornbread!! First time I've had dressing in over 10 years!!! It was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Made it last year for the 1st time and my husband LOVED it! I did use the pointer for Jeanne...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I used this recipe to make a gluten free version for myself. The cornbread mix I use is Bob's Redmill gluten free cornbread mix. I followed this recipe to a "T" and it turned out fantastic! Everyone ate my dressing, and asked if I'd bring it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Every year at Thanksgiving I called my mother for her cornbread dressing recipe. This is the first year I won't be able to call her. She told me the same thing year after year (I enjoyed the call, looked forward to it.) I did a search and here it is!!! This is identical to my mother's! Thank you for posting! It was always my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This recipe is fantastic!! the only thing i do differently is when i make my cornbread i use 2 boxes of jiffy and instead of using the ingrediants i use 1/3 of the honey in the bear container and 16 oz of sour cream.. It makes it super moist and a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Love this recipe! My husband gobbles it up every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This is almost my family recipe. I mix my own cornbread with a package of dressing mix - not the cubed option. For years I watched my mother put together her toasted bread and cornbread, but the prepared package of dressing mix allows skipping the labor part of the bread prep. Also, the package has the flavorings almost perfect to begin with. Gently allowing the celery and onion to soften in the butter is key here. My mom finished off this recipe with milk to make it less dense. The aroma from the baked dressing brings them in from the football game, believe me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Would be really good except need to triple celery amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States