Grandma's Corn Bread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Don't add too much liquid and don't stir much. I put the cooked onions and celery in a Magic Bullet and blended them a little before adding to dressing. I also added Tony Chachere's Creole Seasoning and less salt.Be sure to taste before adding eggs! I love this recipe as it is so similar to my Mother's!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tnick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
we love cornbread and we love stuffing, but we didn't care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This is the best recipe ever! It tastes just like my grandmother's and I've been trying to make it for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by what's Cooking?
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I left out & added in a few seasonings; it was absolutely delicious the whole family loved it from the elders to the toddlers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Stir during cooking to make it fluffier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I used this as a jumping-off point and made a few changes. My grandma used to make a very similar recipe and I've been trying over the last few years to recreate it. I used Aunt Jemima corn meal with the "golden corn bread" recipe on the package. Of the whole pan, I used about 3/4. I boiled 4 chicken thighs, shredded the meat after it had cooled, and added it to the recipe. We've always had chicken in our dressing, but I might try a different meat at a non-holiday gathering. No sage. I'm not experienced with sage and I know my grandma never used it. Maybe it works for someone else, but I just didn't want it. I added a couple slices of bread, crumbled, and more broth. I think my grandmother also uses a can of biscuits but I figured that would just be too much bread for me. I had to up the baking time, it may have been as much as an hour total. Overall, this particular recipe is a solid average before changes are made. Being such a simple recipe, it's easy to experiment and improve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Dogan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
My first dressing from scratch by this recipe turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This tastes just like my mother's dressing (which is the best). First time I made it found sage was too much. I now use 1/2 the sage called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julia I.
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I didn't have sage, so I added thyme and garlic salt instead. I prepared JIF corn bread mix with buttermilk (a little more than called for) and added canned corn and sauteed onions, green, yellow & red peppers, chopped up. No celery. Then I followed this recipe. It was delicious - and I usually don't use anything boxed, but the JIF is more like a base for other corn bread recipes anyway...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia I.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I did this for Thanksgiving! It taste just like I used to make it....like Big Ma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States