Grandma's Coconut Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sunshine Blair
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Our family loves this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine Blair

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
My pie never did set up. Very runny and I cooked an extra 30 minutes. Top was a beautiful golden brown but I have no idea what happened as I followed the recipe to the letter. Also, I do think it has too much butter and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Way too much sugar and butter. I will just look for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I made this once and now everyone asks me to make them for any get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Incredible! I changed a few things to my own liking, but overall the same (if that makes sense). I pre-baked my pie crusts. (brush frozen pie crust with butter, prick crust to prevent bubble, bake as directed on pkg) I also reduced sugar to 1 1/2 cups, increased vanilla to 1/2 tablespoon, instead of using a whole pkg of coconut, I placed a couple handfuls into the bottom of the baked pie crust, then poured the filling over the top. I baked it for 20 min @ 400, then reduced heat to 350 and baked the remaining time. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This was a very dielicious pie! Flaky on top- and not overly sweet. I threw in a few chopped pecans that I had left over (about 1/2 cup) and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phebe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
AMAZING! I made the recipe as it states, except I made a homemade crust from graham crackers and macadamia nuts. It was a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Tagle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
After years of making these I lost the piece of paper with the recipe on it. This is the only way to make these. I see a lot of recipes that call for flour in the mixture and I shudder to think what that would do to the custardy texture. My husband could not stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppingford, Huntingdonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I made this pie for my bake sale, Oh Boy! i wouldn't change a thing. It has become my regular bake sale Item. Thanks Patsy and Grandma. Love Life,People and bless others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jamestown, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was delicious!!! I took it to a Easter party we had at my families house and everyone loved it! My Grandma even told someone she didn't think I made it...she thought I had bought it from someone! This will be a recipe I continue to make for years to come! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States