Grandma's Chopped Liver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This was my Grandma's Chopped Liver recipe too! Sadly, she passed away in 1997, before I had the recipe. I followed your recipe precisely, and am quite nostalgic at the moment. A heartfelt thank you for this terrific recipe, which I will pass along to my daughters. Jodi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Holy Moly! This rivals any chopped liver I've had from Jewish delis. Delicious. I altered the recipe only slightly, because I had only 1 pound of livers and was low on onions. I used a scallion with the liver and kept both eggs. I fried half of one onion and used the other half raw. Oh, the discipline it is taking not to eat the whole batch! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harvestdance

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I was staying with my elderly mother and she was having problems with anemia. In addition to her iron supplement I looked up on the internet other iron rich foods that I could make for her. Liver is right up there at the top and I found this recipe. OMG it is good! The three textures of onion (boiled, fried and raw) plus the hard boiled eggs add tons to the texture and flavor. Reminds me of when we used to get really good chopped chicken livers from the Jewish deli as a kid. Now I make it all the time. It's so easy! Thanks for sharing AJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
i was skeptical how this would taste using the raw onions. I almost left them out. I was also worried about processing this to mush in the food processor. I decided to follow the recipe exactly and was blown away by how great it came out. I used pulse on the food processor, resulting in a great consistency. It wasn't too oniony and didn't have any of that gamey flavor that chopped liver can get. A great recipe. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: Dayton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is awesome chopped liver. The only thing I did different was use children broth instead of water and then added 1 chicken bouillon cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This was pretty tasteless. Next time, I'll go back to starting off with sautéing the liver with onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This is truly a special treat for those who love chopped liver. It's definitely an acquired taste, but once you've got it, you find yourself craving it. I made this for my bro's birthday party and it was a hit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
My husband swears this tastes just like his mom's recipe. Turns out great every time and is really easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This is close to my grandmother's recipe, but to give it fives stars I have to make a few small changes. Use just one (1) large sweet onion, two (2)stalks celery without the tops, three (3) hard cooked eggs and schmaltz (rendered chicken fat) in place of the oil. When I have time I used the grinder, but in a pinch you can use the food processor. Cut the onion and celery into large pieces. Coarsely process the celery and onion. Add the eggs and then add the liver and process a few seconds, until all the ingredients are combined. Add the Schmaltz (to taste) by hand. Season with kosher salt --you'll use a few spoonfuls--and black pepper. Serve on sliced rye bread or matzoh crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I made this for the first time for a Elderly friend that was craving "Chopped Liver" like in the big city. I added one more hard boiled egg than recommended and 1 tbsp. of Hot Hungarian Paprika. Cleaning the membranes from the livers was alittle laabor intensive ( but worth it ) and I soaked the raw livers overnight in milk ( suggested by another entry ) to tenderize them. I thought the recipe was delicious, my elderly friend said "Well..the taste isn't what I am used to, but it is still good!" ...So at least I tryed to please a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canaan Valley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Watch how to make breaded chicken with lemon-butter and mushrooms.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States