Grandma's Chopped Liver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
With the exception of first pan frying the liver in a bit of bacon fat, I stayed pretty close to the recipe. I did drop a raw, in-shell egg into the simmering liver until it was hard boiled then shelled it and added to the processor. I did not simmer the liver for an hour, but 15 minutes with the egg cooking and 15 minutes on its own. the three onion idea was great; I fried the onions until they were starting to brown. I will make this again, especially for a party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This was my maiden trial and I was very, very nervous, especially since I'm vegetarian. However, it looked good and I actually tasted a tad bit and was pleasantly surprised at the flavor,texture, and odor. I was offered chopped liver back when I ate flesh and although I wanted to taste it, the smell made me nauseous. So, I soaked the liver in cold water with the freshly squeezed juice of half a lemon for about 10 minutes, then rinsed before putting to boil. The lemon juice eliminated the rank odor. Anxiously awaiting the reviews from my guests tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Grogan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Wonderful. Marvelous! Love the three different types of onions. I did make mine with beef liver simmered in beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Shane Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I made both this recipe (Grandma's Chopped Liver) and Val's Hungarian Jewish Chopped Liver for a gathering of six friends, including 3 chopped-liver lovers, 2 who'd never had it, and one who grew up with it but does NOT like it. Everyone was required to taste it, and I took a vote on who liked which one the best. All 6 people declared both recipes delicious, but four people voted this one their favorite, including the person who did not like the chopped liver of his childhood. Two people commented that this recipe resembles pate. This is because the boiled onions give off moisture when the mixture is put through the grinder, so it has a smoother consistency. This one also had a deeper, more layered flavor because the livers are simmered in chicken stock for an hour. (They were so good, I ate a few whole.) I'll be making this recipe often. I might try sauteing celery with the onion next time just to add another layer of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Hi everyone, I am making this for the second time, and it is DELISH. So try it, if you like liver. DELISH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This is close to my grandmother's recipe, but to give it fives stars I have to make a few small changes. Use just one (1) large sweet onion, two (2)stalks celery without the tops, three (3) hard cooked eggs and schmaltz (rendered chicken fat) in place of the oil. When I have time I used the grinder, but in a pinch you can use the food processor. Cut the onion and celery into large pieces. Coarsely process the celery and onion. Add the eggs and then add the liver and process a few seconds, until all the ingredients are combined. Add the Schmaltz (to taste) by hand. Season with kosher salt --you'll use a few spoonfuls--and black pepper. Serve on sliced rye bread or matzoh crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Really good! My wife doesn't care for liver so I nibbled on it all week long, loving every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I made this recipe for my mom who loves chopped liver. She said it had a terrific flavor, but the texture was not as firm as she would have liked. I think the next time I would either omit the boiled onion, or only put about 1/4-1/2 of it in as it was very juicy and watered the liver down a little too much. Otherwise, this was a great recipe and really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I made this for the first time for a Elderly friend that was craving "Chopped Liver" like in the big city. I added one more hard boiled egg than recommended and 1 tbsp. of Hot Hungarian Paprika. Cleaning the membranes from the livers was alittle laabor intensive ( but worth it ) and I soaked the raw livers overnight in milk ( suggested by another entry ) to tenderize them. I thought the recipe was delicious, my elderly friend said "Well..the taste isn't what I am used to, but it is still good!" ...So at least I tryed to please a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canaan Valley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
It doesn't say to drain the water (chicken broth) but I assumed that's what I was supposed to do... I used CALF Liver instead of the chicken and I cooked it with the whole eggs (to hard boil them) and one (opened) egg in with it. Made this for my husband, he really liked it, and is NOT a "Liver Lover."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States