Grandma's Chopped Liver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This was my Grandma's Chopped Liver recipe too! Sadly, she passed away in 1997, before I had the recipe. I followed your recipe precisely, and am quite nostalgic at the moment. A heartfelt thank you for this terrific recipe, which I will pass along to my daughters. Jodi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This is truly a special treat for those who love chopped liver. It's definitely an acquired taste, but once you've got it, you find yourself craving it. I made this for my bro's birthday party and it was a hit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Holy Moly! This rivals any chopped liver I've had from Jewish delis. Delicious. I altered the recipe only slightly, because I had only 1 pound of livers and was low on onions. I used a scallion with the liver and kept both eggs. I fried half of one onion and used the other half raw. Oh, the discipline it is taking not to eat the whole batch! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harvestdance

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Delicious! Great flavor that isn't overpowered by onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMAKOWSKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
My husband swears this tastes just like his mom's recipe. Turns out great every time and is really easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is awesome chopped liver. The only thing I did different was use children broth instead of water and then added 1 chicken bouillon cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
i was skeptical how this would taste using the raw onions. I almost left them out. I was also worried about processing this to mush in the food processor. I decided to follow the recipe exactly and was blown away by how great it came out. I used pulse on the food processor, resulting in a great consistency. It wasn't too oniony and didn't have any of that gamey flavor that chopped liver can get. A great recipe. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: Dayton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I was staying with my elderly mother and she was having problems with anemia. In addition to her iron supplement I looked up on the internet other iron rich foods that I could make for her. Liver is right up there at the top and I found this recipe. OMG it is good! The three textures of onion (boiled, fried and raw) plus the hard boiled eggs add tons to the texture and flavor. Reminds me of when we used to get really good chopped chicken livers from the Jewish deli as a kid. Now I make it all the time. It's so easy! Thanks for sharing AJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This was pretty tasteless. Next time, I'll go back to starting off with sautéing the liver with onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
So delicious! Reminds me of Passover with the family as a kid. I used to think chopped liver was SO gross and couldn't understand why the grownups found it so tasty. Now that I'm living away from my family, I kinda got nostalgic and had a weird craving. Followed this recipe exactly, and it came out DELICIOUS! I have a feeling the whole thing will be gone by tomorrow. Just another case of the grownups being right. I guess sometimes they do know what's good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States