Grandma's Chocolate Zucchini Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I made these brownies without changing anything except the topping (I omitted the sugar and just used 1.5c of chocolate chips), and they were perfect! I would consider them more of a cake than a brownie though. They are so delicious (you would never know there was zucchini in these!), we even ate them for breakfast! *I did bake them in a 13x9x2 dish, instead of a jelly roll pan, which probably just made them thicker. It baked at 350 for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
LOVE IT! I've tried many and always ended up too cake-y (in defense of the recipes, I've also tried to substitute applesauce which I've learned changes the texture. They were moist and chewy. My husband said "these are REALLY good" and he mocks anything sweet with vegetables in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiviaDesigns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Good flavor. After tasting it, found it to taste much like my mother's sheet cake, so decided to add the frosting that would be on her sheet cake. My family loved it with the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was a big hit! I did not use the walnuts and I used Splenda for the sugar. After I pulled out of the oven I took a spatula and spread out the chocolate chips to make it look like icing. All my family and friends loved them, even asked me for the recipe. Great way to get picky eaters to have some vegies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Delicious! My family absolutely loved these and had no clue that there was healthy zucchini in there. I thought they were more cake-like than brownie, but it may have been because I used a 9x13 pan instead of a jelly roll pan. But, in any case they were just the right amount of sweet and chocolatey goodness. These are going to be a definite keeper in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I had extra shredded zucchini after making Zucchini Bread, was looking for something to use it up, and stumbled upon this recipe. I didn't sift anything, was not real exact on measurments, and used a 9x13. This was EXCELLENT! More "cake" than "brownie" but so tasty. I skipped the walnuts, but the topping was delicious. It's all I can do to not grab a square every time I'm near the kitchen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Perfect right out of the pan brownies! Not over chocolatey. If didn't know it was there, would never guess they have the zucchini in them. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Probably the best Zucchini cake/brownies I've had. Great consistency/texture and not too sweet. The chocolate chips on top add the sweetness it needs. I made without the nuts and don't think they're needed. I also made in a regular cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Esau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
These are super moist - more cake-like than brownie - but very tasty! I didn't have cocoa powder, so I melted one 1oz. unsweetened baking square and creamed it in with the butter and sugar. Also didn't have chocolate chips, so I used chocolate mint chips instead. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Firth, Idaho, USA
Living In: Moreland, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as it is stated and it was wonderful. It is not as heavy as a brownie and not as light as cake. I really enjoy the texture of these brownies. I ate 3 pieces and I can hardly wait to eat more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States