Grandma's Chocolate Zucchini Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Wow! I have been a member for a few years and this is the first time I have commented. These were fantastic and so easy! I could only find the skinny zucchini from the grocery store - bought 3 but needed only two. I hate to make icing so the chocolate chip/nut topping was perfect! The only thing I will do differently next time I make them (and there WILL be a next time) is shred the zucchini finer so my youngest doesn't say "what is this green stuff?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
These were "okay", but not great. They were somewhat dry. I'll stick with my other recipes for zucchini brownies and chocolate zucchini cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
In my opinion, this would fall under the category of snack cake and not a brownie. The texture is delicate and moist with a light cocoa flavor. The topping is what makes the cake. The chocolate chips melt into the batter to give it pockets of gooiness while the sugar forms a delicate crispy layer much like a glaze. The nuts, of course, add crunch. However, I left the nuts out because I didn’t want to open a new bag since this was more about using up leftover zucchini and a bag of chocolate bits ‘n pieces that were on the shelf. The chocolate pieces that I used melted into the batter more than it would have had I used regular chocoalte chips, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I was worried about how these would turn out. The consistency of the batter was thick so I added a teaspoon or two of canola oil. My reason for making these were to get some zucchini into my son who has food texture issues and is a very picky eater. I thought these tasted good and I agree with the reviewer that stated they're in between a cake and a brownie. There was no hiding the zucchini though. It's there and noticeable. My soon took a bite expecting a brownie (funny how he'll eat anything sugar based w/out a problem!) and I could tell he liked it until he got a little string of zucchini on his tongue. Will cut down the zucchini by a cup when I make this again. Everyone else loved it as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calais, Maine, USA
Living In: Norway, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
If you have an abundance of zucchini in your garden, or even if you don’t, you may want to try this recipe. It is wonderful. As commented by previous reviewers, the title of this recipe is a misnomer. I found this have a light, cake-like texture. Because it makes a jelly roll pan size and is delicious, it would be perfect to bring to cook outs or other large gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as it is stated and it was wonderful. It is not as heavy as a brownie and not as light as cake. I really enjoy the texture of these brownies. I ate 3 pieces and I can hardly wait to eat more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Very good but taste more like a chocolate cake bar. Not like a brownie at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Made these in a 9x13 Pyrex. Definitely more cake like than brownie, but still very yummy. Skipped the walnuts & didn't have choco chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNAPPYSTUFF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Outstanding! My kids did not even know that it had Zucchini in it! Very moist and rich! We also frosted ours. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Probably the best Zucchini cake/brownies I've had. Great consistency/texture and not too sweet. The chocolate chips on top add the sweetness it needs. I made without the nuts and don't think they're needed. I also made in a regular cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Esau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States