Grandma's Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Wonderful pudding! One suggestion for added success... Slowly stir the liquid ingredients in to avoid lumps and bumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Warm and creamy..hits the spot! Instead of only using 1/2 a can of evaporated milk, I used an entire can and adjusted the water to match. Extra calories I know, but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Excellent dessert. I agree with a previous poster: be sure to use good quality chocolate. I used Hershey's cocoa powder and followed the recipe exactly. It turned out great, but there's was just something...not exactly right with it. I know for a fact it's the chocolate brand I used though because I've noticed Hershey's been tasting different as of late. (I heard they had changed their formula.) Anyway, I'm definitely going to be using this from now on as my go-to recipe for chocolate pudding. I'm going to try it with Ghiradelli chocolate next time. Thanks a bunch for a simple, yummy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I followed the recipe and the pudding turned out great! Super chocolate flavor and creamy. It tasted great both warm and cooled. Maybe next time I will try this as a chocolate cream pie filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sniper69

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was very good and very chocolatey. I'll never buy boxed again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I'm allergic to chocolate :(, so I can't give a personal opinion, but my family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This recipe is very similar to my grandmother's, and I enjoy the "down home" taste! I substituted 2% milk for the water and evaporated milk, and had to turn up the heat to medium high to get it to boil. It came out wonderfully, even so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I have made this several times now and it's the best chocolate pudding recipe that I have found. It is smooth and creamy and I love the velvety chocolate taste. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I swear this is some of the best stuff I have ever tasted. I want more!! I added less sugar than what it called for (I always decrease sugar amounts anywhere from 2Tbls to 1/2 cup depending on how much is called for) so it would taste chocolately, not sugary. This is much much better than pudding in the box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Excellent rich chocolate flavor. Very sweet and creamy. You have to allow plenty of time to do this though, as mine took nearly 45 minutes to get to a boil over med heat. After mine thickened, I simply poured it into 4 serving bowls and then let it stand til it cooled. No additional stirring or anything. I did grate some milk chocolate shavings over a couple of the bowls for looks. This was just like Great Grandma used to make and now I know how to do it too! Thanks for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States