Grandma's Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Changed it to whole 12 oz can of evaporated milk and 1 cup water, so creamy and chocolatey. I also reduced the sugar to 3/4 c, just a personal preference. I used vanilla AND a tiny dash of rum extract... to those whose did not thicken... did you let it come to a full boil? No matter how LONG you cook the pudding, it will not thicken unless it comes to a full boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CristalJoy

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
YUM!!! Just make sure you use a good tasting cocoa powder. I used Herhsey and it turned out a little strong. perhaps a little less intense cocoa. perhaps a european chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I followed the recipe and the pudding turned out great! Super chocolate flavor and creamy. It tasted great both warm and cooled. Maybe next time I will try this as a chocolate cream pie filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sniper69

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I didn't want to be rating this but commenting in case anyone tries to do what I did. I didn't have enough cocoa so I used 2 oz of unsweetened chocolate squares. I melted it the milk before adding the rest of the stuff and I'd advise against that since adding flour to hot milk doesn't quite turn out smooth pudding. Tastes fine but lumpy. Instead either melt the chocolate in the microwave first and add to the milk, sugar, flour before heating or reserve half the cold liquid to mix with the flour to add after the chocolate melts in the heated liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Excellent rich chocolate flavor. Very sweet and creamy. You have to allow plenty of time to do this though, as mine took nearly 45 minutes to get to a boil over med heat. After mine thickened, I simply poured it into 4 serving bowls and then let it stand til it cooled. No additional stirring or anything. I did grate some milk chocolate shavings over a couple of the bowls for looks. This was just like Great Grandma used to make and now I know how to do it too! Thanks for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Wonderful pudding! One suggestion for added success... Slowly stir the liquid ingredients in to avoid lumps and bumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I'm allergic to chocolate :(, so I can't give a personal opinion, but my family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is a really straightforward recipe - easy to do, low-cost ingredients, but it's WAY too sweet. I followed the recipe to a T since it was the first time. I'll make it again, but will reduce the sugar to 1/2 or 2/3 of a cup for better balance. Has great potential as a starter recipe, but will take some tweaking to get right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Delicious! I've made this twice and made small changes each time. The first time I used dark chocolate cocoa powder, which made it really rich. The second time I used regular powder but used 1 cup coffee and 1 cup water in place of 2 cups water to make it mocha flavored!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Excellent dessert. I agree with a previous poster: be sure to use good quality chocolate. I used Hershey's cocoa powder and followed the recipe exactly. It turned out great, but there's was just something...not exactly right with it. I know for a fact it's the chocolate brand I used though because I've noticed Hershey's been tasting different as of late. (I heard they had changed their formula.) Anyway, I'm definitely going to be using this from now on as my go-to recipe for chocolate pudding. I'm going to try it with Ghiradelli chocolate next time. Thanks a bunch for a simple, yummy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States