Grandma's Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I followed the recipe and the pudding turned out great! Super chocolate flavor and creamy. It tasted great both warm and cooled. Maybe next time I will try this as a chocolate cream pie filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sniper69

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was very good and very chocolatey. I'll never buy boxed again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I'm allergic to chocolate :(, so I can't give a personal opinion, but my family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Wonderful pudding! One suggestion for added success... Slowly stir the liquid ingredients in to avoid lumps and bumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Warm and creamy..hits the spot! Instead of only using 1/2 a can of evaporated milk, I used an entire can and adjusted the water to match. Extra calories I know, but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
YUM!!! Just make sure you use a good tasting cocoa powder. I used Herhsey and it turned out a little strong. perhaps a little less intense cocoa. perhaps a european chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
pretty good. however, i couldnt get the pudding to thicken! it thickened a tiny bit but not enough to call it pudding. i ended up using it as fondue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, New York, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Very yummy. Hubby is a pudding eater (usually the instant box kind) and was very impressed. Mine thickened up very well - almost too much, but I think I went a little heavy on the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I didn't want to be rating this but commenting in case anyone tries to do what I did. I didn't have enough cocoa so I used 2 oz of unsweetened chocolate squares. I melted it the milk before adding the rest of the stuff and I'd advise against that since adding flour to hot milk doesn't quite turn out smooth pudding. Tastes fine but lumpy. Instead either melt the chocolate in the microwave first and add to the milk, sugar, flour before heating or reserve half the cold liquid to mix with the flour to add after the chocolate melts in the heated liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This recipe is very similar to my grandmother's, and I enjoy the "down home" taste! I substituted 2% milk for the water and evaporated milk, and had to turn up the heat to medium high to get it to boil. It came out wonderfully, even so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States