Grandma's Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Excellent dessert. I agree with a previous poster: be sure to use good quality chocolate. I used Hershey's cocoa powder and followed the recipe exactly. It turned out great, but there's was just something...not exactly right with it. I know for a fact it's the chocolate brand I used though because I've noticed Hershey's been tasting different as of late. (I heard they had changed their formula.) Anyway, I'm definitely going to be using this from now on as my go-to recipe for chocolate pudding. I'm going to try it with Ghiradelli chocolate next time. Thanks a bunch for a simple, yummy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Unfortunately, we really didn't like this pudding. It needed to be a bit creamier, and the cocoa taste just didn't seem to be the right proportion for the recipe. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrie_cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
When I couldn't find my favorite chocolate pudding recipe and turned here for help. I thought I was in luck by the many positive reviews, but was disappointed. The mixture did not thicken and lacked "body" and taste.I don't think the combination of evaporated milk and water made it creamy enough. Thankfully, I have since found my favorite recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Excellent rich chocolate flavor. Very sweet and creamy. You have to allow plenty of time to do this though, as mine took nearly 45 minutes to get to a boil over med heat. After mine thickened, I simply poured it into 4 serving bowls and then let it stand til it cooled. No additional stirring or anything. I did grate some milk chocolate shavings over a couple of the bowls for looks. This was just like Great Grandma used to make and now I know how to do it too! Thanks for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I swear this is some of the best stuff I have ever tasted. I want more!! I added less sugar than what it called for (I always decrease sugar amounts anywhere from 2Tbls to 1/2 cup depending on how much is called for) so it would taste chocolately, not sugary. This is much much better than pudding in the box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I think the amount of vanilla should be 1 tsp, not 1 Tbsp. I substituted mint extract instead of vanilla and used 1 Tbsp without thinking it through. It was a strong as eating toothpaste! I salvaged it by making another plain batch with 1 tsp vanilla to mix together. I also made several other substitutions: used whole wheat flour and rye flour, used half cacao and half carob powder, and used half sugar half stevia liquid. The plain batch turned out nice and chocolaty and plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I have made this several times now and it's the best chocolate pudding recipe that I have found. It is smooth and creamy and I love the velvety chocolate taste. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This recipe is very similar to my grandmother's, and I enjoy the "down home" taste! I substituted 2% milk for the water and evaporated milk, and had to turn up the heat to medium high to get it to boil. It came out wonderfully, even so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I didn't want to be rating this but commenting in case anyone tries to do what I did. I didn't have enough cocoa so I used 2 oz of unsweetened chocolate squares. I melted it the milk before adding the rest of the stuff and I'd advise against that since adding flour to hot milk doesn't quite turn out smooth pudding. Tastes fine but lumpy. Instead either melt the chocolate in the microwave first and add to the milk, sugar, flour before heating or reserve half the cold liquid to mix with the flour to add after the chocolate melts in the heated liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Very yummy. Hubby is a pudding eater (usually the instant box kind) and was very impressed. Mine thickened up very well - almost too much, but I think I went a little heavy on the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States