Grandma's Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Excellent! I poured the liquid in gradually, stirred constantly, gradually heated it up to a boil & voila----thick & NO lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I Love this recipe :) I have made it according to the recipe and in an alternate fashion. I changed the 2 cups water to evaporated milk and the 3/4 evaporated mile to milk and didn't add any salt. Another twist for me is after it cooled I added 1/2 cup of cream to the pudding and stirred it in :D it was really good. I found that mixing the pudding in my Vita Mix got rid of any lumps before I cooked it. For the people with chocolate allergies, someone told me you can try carob as a substitute and it should taste pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha Jetty
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Very tasty and simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
i found this for my wanta be pastry chef husband, and it turned out wonderful, i tasted it and it was like being a teen again when mother used to make puddings.. so good thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smokeybiscuit

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canyon Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This is really good, and just like what we use to mke when I was little and "Jell'o" pudding was an expensive treat. Its a perfect comfort food that will satify anyone from 2yrs old to 102. I don't make it nearly often enough and need to remedy that! To make this a bit more interesting, I increased the cocoa and added a pak of Starbucks Instant Coffee (Italian roast) to it. Tastes like Mocha and everyone raves about it. I have a few other flavor combinations in mind to try too- like peanutbutter, mint or maybe using almond extract instead of vanilla? Experiment and see what other delicious flavors I can create!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was soooo good. Like SHANESMOMMY, I used the whole can of evaporated milk and adjusted the water to suit, but I didn't have any of the other problems with texture that some people had. I've made it a handful of times now, and I like it best after upping the cocoa-- no specific amount, just more for flavor. As for serving, we've got a great chocolate mint plant growing in the garden, and a few leaves of that, stirred in at the end of cooking, make for a fabulous flavor. We also really liked it over angel food cake with sliced strawberries on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pocobelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
i have tried this recipe.. using Cristaljoy tips.. thanks a lot for the creamy tips.. but i used custard flour instead of all purpose flour.. n 1/2 c of sugar.. less sweet extra smooth n creamy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Changed it to whole 12 oz can of evaporated milk and 1 cup water, so creamy and chocolatey. I also reduced the sugar to 3/4 c, just a personal preference. I used vanilla AND a tiny dash of rum extract... to those whose did not thicken... did you let it come to a full boil? No matter how LONG you cook the pudding, it will not thicken unless it comes to a full boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CristalJoy

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I was so excited when I found this recipe as I was trying to find a pudding close to what my grandmother made. I was totally disappointed. I bought the most expensive cocoa. I kept cooking it and cooking it and it never got thick. It has been in my refrigerator for over 24 hours and it is still not thick. Also it is way too sweet. My daughter told me the only way to eat it is to use it as a hot fudge for ice-cream.. because it is way too sweet to eat alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Ok, I've never made a chocolate pudding that turned out to be.. chocolate syrup. This is super watery, and trust me I cooked it over med-high heat for quite some time, and lots of liquid evaporated already. Guess the syrup will go fine over waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States