Grandma's Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I had the same problem as some other people in two ways--I brought it to a rolling boil and let it boil for a full minute while stirring and it turned out a little bit soupy. Also, I found it to be way too sweet--the sugar overpowered the chocolate taste. If I make it again, I'll perhaps add a bit more flour, let it boil longer, and cut the sugar in half. One reviewer said they used it as a pie filling and mine would never have served that purpose; way too soupy. Taste is good, albeit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krissty341
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is a really straightforward recipe - easy to do, low-cost ingredients, but it's WAY too sweet. I followed the recipe to a T since it was the first time. I'll make it again, but will reduce the sugar to 1/2 or 2/3 of a cup for better balance. Has great potential as a starter recipe, but will take some tweaking to get right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Perfect - I used it as filling for chocolate pie for Thanksgiving. Creamy and smooth I did stir constantly and let it bubble until a bit thick. I will keep this one. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Love it. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This was easy, thickened up beautifully and initially had pretty good flavor - excellent creamy texture! However, I could really taste the flour in this, and that kind of ruined it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Very rich, very creamy, and very good. I used one 12oz can evaporated milk and one cup strong black coffee. I also increased the cocoa to 3/4 cup and used splenda because I'm trying to cut back on sugar. It worked perfectly. When this batch is gone I'll be making another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
i liked it, big kid didn't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Delicious! I've made this twice and made small changes each time. The first time I used dark chocolate cocoa powder, which made it really rich. The second time I used regular powder but used 1 cup coffee and 1 cup water in place of 2 cups water to make it mocha flavored!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I gave this 4 stars because the pudding tasted good (aside from tasting a little too creamy). The only thing I had wrong with it is the consistency... it's a little too runny for my liking. I prefer pudding to be thicker. In saying this, I did double my recipe, so perhaps the amount that I was making all at once had a little something to do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States