Grandma's Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
We liked this chili a lot, and really liked that it used a ton of veggies so it makes for a good clean-out-the-fridge dish. I did only use one pound of ground beef, and added one can of black beans in addition to the can of baked beans. Turned out great, and I liked the fact that this wasn't tomato based just for something different. Definitely let this simmer for as long as possible to get the flavors to meld together well. Thank your for the recipe, scootegyrl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Great chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
A little weak for me, added cayenne pepper, more chilli powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yadkinville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This was the 1st time i've made chili and my pot was empty by the end of the night! I used fresh mushroom not canned and added extra chili's and spices to help the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
My fiancee and I enjoy this recipe. Tweaks we've made: more than double the beans (around 40 oz,) and substitute half the ground beef for sausage. We've also tried it with and without the onion. Adding more beans makes it feel more mealy, and it lasts twice as long. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
the chili for this recipe was very good, even though it wasn't red. I ended up adding a can of tomato sauce anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This was an absolutely delicious chili recipe. After I got over the fact that it was not a red chili recipe and tasted the finished product, it was very very good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Yes to the northern beans...Plus I put a lot more peppers and onions in than the recipe called for. Plus some cilantro, jalopenos slices, red pepper and a couple splashes of Dave's Insanity Sauce-just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Think recipe was great. We added a few things but it was a great weekend meal & great for left overs. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
This was not the best chili I ever had but my boyfriend loved it! I just couldn't get over the fact that there was no "red" in it so I ended up adding 1 can tomato sauce. Also, I only used 1lb of hamburger AND added a can of northern beans. I'll make this again and send w/ my boyfriend in a crock pot for those fall weekends when he heads north to his cabin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States