Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Delicious and very easy to make. I get the chicken from a roasted chicken at the local grocery store. The chicken is delicious and makes this even easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Pretty good soup; very basic, so it's easy to make your own. I opted out of using the noodles, preferring instead to use up some of my potatoes, roughly chopped, and I also added chopped carrot to the soup. I simmered this all day in the crock pot and ended up with a huge amount of soup (I halved this recipe as well, so be forewarned) that was delicious with a garlic bread I got at Costco. I left out the salt entirely while putting it together--it's so much more practical to let individuals season with salt and pepper at the table as needed. I do think this needs garlic (for once I forgot to add garlic on my own!) and maybe a few other seasonings, but it's a decent start and makes for a hearty soup that is good for a winter's day. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Less poultry seasoning & more corn starch. Definitely use low-sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Great Chicken Noodle Soup BASE recipe and for that I give it 4 stars, because it basically makes it full proof GOOD! I've made this about 6 times for my entire family over this winter. I am actually enjoying a bowl right now! We never knew about using corn starch to thicken soup until this recipe. If you are using homemade chicken broth that you get from boiling your chicken then I do somewhat agree on the salt proportions!! But not for store bought chicken broth. I'd say omit most of the extra salt entirely. Also, no need to cook the egg noodles separately, I throw them in the same pot and they cook in 9 minutes. I always add about 5-8 different types of veggies depending what I have on hand, the ones I've tried and have worked deliciously are (potatoes,carrots,celery,zucchini,mushroom,eggplant,tomato,onion,red bell pepper, asparagus tips) I try to sneak in as many!! The ones that HAVE NOT WORKED WELL (cabbage, brussel's sprouts and broccoli). I guess I got too ambitious. As for taste, herbs and such I added: thyme, basil, bay leaves, parsley, granulated garlic powder, paprika, crushed red pepper flakes, and seasoned salt and black pepper. Solid healthy meal every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Easy and a favorite - even with our picky eaters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
So yummy! I made it as is except for adding celery. Everyone LOVED it & it made great leftovers! Win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Used left over turkey. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This recipe is amazing! Best chicken noodle soup I have ever had, and sooo easy too! I took some advise from other reviewers and sauteed onions AND carrots in butter until onions are tender. (I omitted celery as we don't like it.) Added the broth (I use low sodium...it doesn't even need the extra salt) and seasoning, added the chicken, then added the noodles and cooked until noodles were done. Add the cornstarch and water mixture last. Much easier this way. It's great, because you can use turkey or chicken! I make this when I have leftover chicken or turkey from a previous dinner...so all you have to do is cut the chicken up and throw it in! Great stuff...make in a big batch and eat off it for awhile or freeze it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paintponyscout
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
A little bland but perfect for a wintry day with lots of sickos!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 885) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States