Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Ok. I just made this soup. I added 1 1/2 pack of frozen carrots and I would add more celery. I also added more chicken. After all of my additions, it was pretty good. I respect the fact that this is a family recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
made it as written...it of work for just okay soup. Probably won't make it again but if I did I would try different spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Let me start out by saying I can't cook. That said, I prepared this per the recipe instructions (minus the salt) and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dbod621
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Loved this recipe sooo much! It was a MUST to add carrots!!! Then it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
This soup is delish! I actually ran out of chicken broth so added some beef broth- still turned out very tasteful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This is my first review - after years of using allrecipes - because this really is that good! I followed the recipe pretty close, because I always like to give it a fair chance as written. The only changes I made we're adding a cup of sliced carrots and reducing the salt to 1 tablespoon. I used buillion cubes to makes my broth and they're pretty salty so I thought this would balance out. I love salt and this was just right when it was done, however; the next day, the leftovers were too salty. I think this would be perfect if you cut the salt down to a teaspoon to start and then adjusted to taste, knowing it might get a little saltier as the days go by. The seasoning and the thickening of the cornstarch are just perfect to make this true comfort food. We couldn't get enough! I also skipped pre-cooking the noodles and just added them into the soup to cook - saves a pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Very good recipe! I did alter a bit also. I used 8 cups of unsalted chicken broth and 2 cups of salted, but added about a tablespoon of salt and it was perfect! Used a little less than 1/3 cup of cornstarch due to less chicken broth. I also added a cup of carrots and omitted the onions. I also followed the advice of others with the uncooked egg noodles being added towards the end, once soft, I added the chicken and it was finished. The hubby and I were very satisfied with the outcome. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Incorporated a lot of the suggestions, added a few of my own, and then I would say it was a 5-star. Sauteed the onion and celery along with 3 chopped cloves of garlic and a large chopped carrot in a tablespoon of olive oil. Then added the chicken broth (low sodium) and no salt. Simmered an entire store-bought rotisserie chicken (bones, skin, and all), along with the juices, in the veggies and broth for 15 minutes, then removed the chicken, deboned and deskinned it, shredded the meat, and added the meat back in. Brought the broth to boiling and added all-wheat noodles in (did not pre boil them). Followed the rest of the instructions. Initially this low-salt version soup may need salt or pepper for some folks but it's best to add those to taste when the soup is done, not before. I prefer to let individuals add their extra seasoning to their bowls, because unless you've got a very large family there are going to be leftovers and once chicken soup sits a while it always has more flavor, and adding salt in the first go-round makes for salty second-day chicken soup. Also added frozen peas and I would say the corn starch adds a slight thickening but it's not a big deal whether you use it or not. It is also quite thick with meat and veggies so second-day reheat could benefit from adding another small can or two of chicken stock. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Amazing. My family loves this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 933) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States