Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Great soup! I followed the advice of other reviewers and added carrots, garlic, bayleaf, thyme, and parsley. I also cooked my egg noodles in the broth before adding the chicken and nixed the cornstarch. I've made this twice now and it got rave reviews from my family both times. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Loved how simple this was. Used store bought rotisserie chicken, which I refrigerated ahead of time. Pulled off the cold meat, threw the leftover bone and skin in cheesecloth and threw all of it into the broth with the veggies. For the broth I just used 12 cups boiling water and 12 tsp chicken bouillon since I didn't have enough canned chicken broth. Also added 1 cup chopped carrot. Left out the salt until the end and added it to taste. Left out the cornstarch altogether. I tried it both ways, with and without, and in the end it tasted too much like canned soup when I added the cornstarch, in my opinion. I seasoned as some others suggested with garlic, pepper, parsley, bay leaves etc. Whatever sounded good. Also, while you could throw the pasta in with the rest of it towards the end, I wouldn't recommend it if you don't plan to eat it all in one sitting. If you try to reheat it, the pasta will have soaked up the broth and gets mushy and you might as well eat canned soup at that point. I use whatever spoon sized pasta I have on hand and it all tastes great either way. Since there are only two of us, I keep the cooked pasta separated and throw it in when I reheat it, so it's not soaking up the broth in the fridge. Very tasty and comforting when you feel a cold coming on, and not too difficult to make when you don't feel well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Made this soup tonight and it was great! The whole family loved it-thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Made it using the rotisserie chicken as mentioned by another reviewer, delicious is all I can say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreggHomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Really simple,but very tasty! I do t like egg noodles so I used cooked spaghetti noodles but that was the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
We thought this recipe was very good. I added a little parsley, pepper, and carrots. I also used a little less salt, but oveall very good and great consistency! We will make this again next time we have chicken noodle soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Awesome! Totally use & love this recipe, just use a non-dairy/gluten chkn broth. Use gluten free noodles made after soup is cooked then throw in noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I made this exactly as outlined in the recipe (why rate things when you basically change the entire recipe by adding and subtracting ingredients?). It was tasty and I'll make it again. Left to my own devices, my chicken noodle soup is often rather bland; this recipe solves that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Rostad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Made this for the first time…. the taste was pretty good…. I did add carrots to it…..I also made half the original recipe….. its just me and hubby so it was perfect for the two of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Lennon Elliott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Great recipe! Perfect for a rainy day, and it's super simple to make. I used leftover turkey from thanksgiving, since we didn't have any chicken in the house. It tasted sooo good! Also, I used spaghetti just because I'm too lazy to go buy egg noodles, and I didn't have any poultry seasoning either. The soup has awesome flavour and I would definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 873) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States