Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Instead of using a cornstarch slurry, I used a couple tablespoons flour and threw in a couple tablespoons butter and I cooked the flour/butter until brown, then added in the chicken broth. I added in some fresh ground pepper, too. This was a quick and very basic chicken noodle soup recipe that my family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Wonderful and easy recipe, will make again. I did have celery, only it was too far gone so decided to use some celery flakes that were in the spice cabinet. Let's just say that since it was close to St Patrick's Day it was jokingly referred to as Irish Chicken Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I've made this a few times and it's yummy. Add a cup of carrots as well. I like to saute the onions, celery and carrots first off. Adds a nice flavor and releases some sugars to sweeten up the saltiness. I also don't bother with pre-cooking the noodles. This is a good one to throw your own little twists into. Quick, easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
yes i have made this chicken soup before, i use low sodium chicken stock, do not add any salt, used a roasted chicken from the store, skinned and de boned, i did use the bones in the broth, then discarded them, i love the onion celery, i know it did not include carrots, but a must have for me, also 2 bay leaves, and pepper, did not have egg noodles, but i had a package of thin spghetti, so i , snapped it every 3 inches, turned out wonderful, thanx so much for this yummy soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Love this recipe.The only thing different I did was boil my chicken carcus with some meat on it.Strip off the meat add the veggies,spices and meat bring to a boil and added my noodles.No thickening agent needed when cooking the noodles in the liquid.Your seasonings were right on.Love this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgi porgi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This was so good... GF was sick, and made this for her. She loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knpjdad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Added some garlic and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Quick and easy. I use a lot less salt than specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Yum! Yum! Skipped celery and cornstarch and added mixed vegetables. Great simple recipe for winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama and Daughters

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I really liked this simple recipe. The only thing is it appears to be missing the Carrots on the ingredients list as you can clearly see them in the picture, so I just added them. If you use the full sodium broth, it really tastes even better, but you can always use low sodium if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 823) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States