Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Delicious! Nothing better than homemade chicken noodle soup when you're sick with a cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
this is a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
You can't go wrong with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
High five. Very nice. I wasn't sure about the cornstarch, but as another review stated, it added a velvety texture to the soup. Very rich. Adjust the salt to taste. And, of course, add whatever veggies you want. I personally like a hearty-style soup with corn, peas, green beans & carrots. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This is an excellent recipe that allows many modifications to taste, the main of which is the addition of more vegetables for me. I have seen many reviews stating that the amount of salt is excessive, but I would counter that one and a half tablespoons of salt is JUST RIGHT if you're using your own chicken stock and NOT canned. When I make my own chicken stock, I do not add salt; therefore, adding salt when making the soup is necessary for taste. Sure, some tastes would add more or less, but the recipe as written is not excessive. My guess is those who found it excessive were using canned broth that already contains salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATLOVERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gobles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I made this for a friend with a sore throat she loved it. I used a whole rotisserie chicken like someone suggested. Added in spinach, a bit of pesto, garlic, carrots, mixed veggies. Even the neighborhood girl said it got her to eat her veggies happily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Very good base recipe. I made this several times - both as written and following reviewers' comments. I definitely recommend adding at least 1/2 cup of sliced carrots and parsley flakes, plus garlic. I had better luck cooking the noodles separately. It is great with egg noodles or with wholegrain wheat egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Great soup. I save myself a step and an extra dirty pot by bowling the noodle in the soup at the end. The starch from the noodles makes it just as thick as the addition of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Thanks to the poultry seasoning, this soup has suprisingly good flavor and is a good basic recipe. You can substitute or leave out a vegetable and use bouillon cubes instead of broth, but I wouldn't bother making it without the poultry seasoning. Next time I will add white pepper and also see if I can make it with fewer pots and pans. I realized about 2/3 through that I didn't have the cornstarch--or couldn't find it. I used flour instead--which was fine. Instead of pouring the thickener into the soup and hoping it doesn't turn lumpy you need to add spoonfuls of the hot cooking soup to the thickener after you've mixed it with water and stir. When it's about the consistency of whole milk you can pour into the soup pot and stir. You won't get lumps. You can make this soup as written and you'll be fine. Or, you can add the things you like to it and all should be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I made this recipe twice now, the first Time I followed the recipe exactly as shown. The second time i used low sodium chicken broth, and two cups (I modified the recipe to serve 6) of water and it was still too salty. I ended having to add more water to lessen the saltiness! I would recommend to avoid adding the additional salt the recipe suggest. Easy recipe, with a few modifications it makes for a perfect soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 877) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States