Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I made this using rotisserie chicken and homemade noodles. It couldn't have been much easier, and I doubt there is much of anything one could do to mess this recipe up. The only other thing I changed was to add a splash of cream towards the end of simmering. I felt this added just a bit of richness to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This is a good recipe. I roasted a whole chicken and used the white meat and the juice from the bottom of the roaster in my soup. I also used chicken stock and broth. Some garlic powder. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I based the rating on the original recipe. Very good soup! I did make it again with a few changes. I used 6-7 celery ribs, 5 carrots, omitted the corn starch, and used a rotisserie chicken. I sautéed the carrots, celery, and onions in a few tablespoons of butter first, until the onions were translucent and then added 4 cloves of minced garlic and the poultry seasoning. I also dropped in the whole rotisserie chicken for 15 minutes once the soup began boiling. Added chopped parsley and celery leaves during the last 2 minutes- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Just awesome soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I made my own chicken with celery, onion, salt & pepper and used that broth to make this recipe. I had no problem with the salt issue using canned broth will give you. My husband said it had a lot of flavor. He never says anything about my cooking. I personally loved the soup, as well as my little girls. Thanks for sharing Grandma's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Very expensive to make and strong tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I love this recipe. Funny though, the picture has carrots and parsley, but they aren't in the recipe. I would definitely add these ingredients for more flavor and substance. I use roasted chicken. Great for a rainy Fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
It was yummy! I used the salt recommended and it was way too much. I ended up having to add water to it and I seasoned it with garlic and onion powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I was sick yesterday and out of canned stuff so I figured I could attempt making my own. It came out pretty good, but I made substitutions based on what I had...which included a mix of chicken and vegetable broth, some frozen/canned veggies, and canned chicken (my grandmaw gave that to me, I've been wondering what to do with it). I used Italian seasoning, marjoram, and a dash of Tony's Chachere's, and I threw some angel hair pasta in the mix because I don't have egg noodles. Came out good, better than the canned stuff. Hopefully next time I can use a rotisserie chicken though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States