Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
For basics, this is fine. I buy no salt chicken broth because broth can be the problem. I used to be one of those moms that cooked the whole chicken, made her own noodles hanging from the chandelier to dry. No MORE. I bought two boneless chicken breasts for $ 2.58. I won't throw a Rotisserie chicken in soup. Too expensive. Two large chicken broths, no sodium, sauted celery and onion, carrots, fresh basil, a little poultry seasoning, five little garlics and I learned to make my Reames noodles in a different pot. I don't want stew. But that is good too over mashed potatoes. I put pepper in it. I need to see where the salt tastes like before I add any to the pot. I was going to Panera to get soup but it is too salty so now I am making it myself. $ 13.00 for about 9 bowls of soup. Even if I freeze it, I know it will taste good. As a side note, I would cook the carrots in a different pot and add those and the juice to the soup. Speeds up the process and then you are not boiling your broth to death. I just taste tested mine and finally added some salt. This is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle Ryan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Awesome, and easy! My tweak was to reduce salt to 1 TBL, add 1 tsp. pepper, and add carrots to the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
I made this and LOVED the outcome! I use homemade Amish noodles, and do not pre-cook them, just toss them in after the broth has come to a good boil. Perfect soup for lunch on a rainy day and also to freeze some for another time! If planning to freeze I half the portion before adding noodles. The aroma as it cooks is AMAZING as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill C Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by srbabbitt
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Easy and wonderful! I used regular skinless boneless chicken breasts and shredded them. Next time I'll buy a rotisserie chicken for extra flavor and ease. I cut the recipe in half and it was the perfect amount for me. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Very good base recipe! Added more celery and onion and added carrots and garlic. Sauteed veggies in a little olive oil, then added broth. (low sodium). Did not have poultry seasoning, so used sage, rosemary, thyme, marjoram and a little curry powder, 2 bay leaves, black pepper and some fresh lemon. Used 'No yolk' egg noodles - came out great! Will make again. Would be good with leftover turkey too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I made it just like the instructions stated. it was very bland. If I try to make it again I will definitely add modifications to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Made this recipe today and it was amazing! My 2 and 5 year old girls love canned chicken noodle soup so I decided to make them something better, they both ate their entire bowls!! I made the recipe exactly as written I also found it quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mindy
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This soup was great! I added, garlic, carrots, cilantro, basil and parsley. I used tapioca starch instead of corn starch and I used emirl's original essence instead of poultry seasoning. Instead of regular salt, I used black, orange and White Island salt. I did roast my chicken in a crock pot and I added all the juices from that at well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Definitely could have used some more seasoning, but I thought it was pretty good. My boyfriend said it was his favorite chicken noodle soup (though he was sick as a dog, so he might have said that about anything I served).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I used this as a base for my soup, I always use a rotisserie chicken. I take off the legs & wings from the chicken, and that's another meal for my wife & myself. I ad the rest of the chicken just like it is to the chicken stock. Bring to a boil and then simmer on low for 30 minutes. take chicken out and strain the broth & return to to pot. ad a pinch pf salt, tyme, & garlic powder. mean time I sauteed an onion & a cup of celery in 2 tbls of butter. I ad that to the broth simmering on low. I pull all the meat of the chicken & discard bones & skin.best to use your fingers so no bones slip into the broth. I then add a whole bag of frozen carrots to the broth and bring to a boil for 3 to 5 minutes & then ad the extra wide noodles to the same pot and cook for like 6 minutes. No need for corn starch......Mighty good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 933) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States