Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Thanks to the poultry seasoning, this soup has suprisingly good flavor and is a good basic recipe. You can substitute or leave out a vegetable and use bouillon cubes instead of broth, but I wouldn't bother making it without the poultry seasoning. Next time I will add white pepper and also see if I can make it with fewer pots and pans. I realized about 2/3 through that I didn't have the cornstarch--or couldn't find it. I used flour instead--which was fine. Instead of pouring the thickener into the soup and hoping it doesn't turn lumpy you need to add spoonfuls of the hot cooking soup to the thickener after you've mixed it with water and stir. When it's about the consistency of whole milk you can pour into the soup pot and stir. You won't get lumps. You can make this soup as written and you'll be fine. Or, you can add the things you like to it and all should be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I made this recipe twice now, the first Time I followed the recipe exactly as shown. The second time i used low sodium chicken broth, and two cups (I modified the recipe to serve 6) of water and it was still too salty. I ended having to add more water to lessen the saltiness! I would recommend to avoid adding the additional salt the recipe suggest. Easy recipe, with a few modifications it makes for a perfect soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
My husband said to put this on the monthly rotation. It was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountainburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I added carrots as well and doubled up on the celery. I also added a tablespoon of poultry seasoning which gave it even more flavor. The first time I made this, I followed the entire recipe and it was a little bland. If you like a little more flavor, I recommend more veggies and more seasoning. Very easy recipe and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maxx
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Fantastic... I added a can of cream of chicken and didn't add the celery (my family doesn't like celery). It vanished from the pot! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
The most delicious chicken soup I've ever had. If you are planning on freezing it for later, I would recommend using a heartier noodle than the egg noodle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Great recipe & easy to make. I added minced garlic, chopped red pepper, carrots & spices to taste. Used a rotisserie chicken. I find it easier & it adds a ton of flavor. Will definitely make this again. Next time i will also add fresh sliced mushrooms. I love homemade soups & this one hit the spot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
The best chicken noodle soup I've ever ate! MMMMM I made it the was Chessacat did
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Pretty good and easy! The thing that took the most time was chopping the garlic, carrots, celery and onion and also running to the store to pick up a rotisserie chicken. I sautéed the veggies first, pulled the meat and added the broth and bones to the pot. I also boiled the noodles separate and added them and 1/2 the meat to the pot after fishing the bones out. I skipped the cornstarch and poultry seasoning and added much less salt than the recipe listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I have always wanted to try homemade chicken soup so I picked this recipe and wow I am so glad I did! It is great and easy too. Simple ingredients make it easy to make. The only change I made was I got a rotisserie chicken already cooked and shredded it up that cuts a lot of time off and the only salt I added was in the noodle water. My wife loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gregg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 859) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States