Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Less poultry seasoning & more corn starch. Definitely use low-sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Great Chicken Noodle Soup BASE recipe and for that I give it 4 stars, because it basically makes it full proof GOOD! I've made this about 6 times for my entire family over this winter. I am actually enjoying a bowl right now! We never knew about using corn starch to thicken soup until this recipe. If you are using homemade chicken broth that you get from boiling your chicken then I do somewhat agree on the salt proportions!! But not for store bought chicken broth. I'd say omit most of the extra salt entirely. Also, no need to cook the egg noodles separately, I throw them in the same pot and they cook in 9 minutes. I always add about 5-8 different types of veggies depending what I have on hand, the ones I've tried and have worked deliciously are (potatoes,carrots,celery,zucchini,mushroom,eggplant,tomato,onion,red bell pepper, asparagus tips) I try to sneak in as many!! The ones that HAVE NOT WORKED WELL (cabbage, brussel's sprouts and broccoli). I guess I got too ambitious. As for taste, herbs and such I added: thyme, basil, bay leaves, parsley, granulated garlic powder, paprika, crushed red pepper flakes, and seasoned salt and black pepper. Solid healthy meal every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Easy and a favorite - even with our picky eaters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
So yummy! I made it as is except for adding celery. Everyone LOVED it & it made great leftovers! Win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Used left over turkey. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This recipe is amazing! Best chicken noodle soup I have ever had, and sooo easy too! I took some advise from other reviewers and sauteed onions AND carrots in butter until onions are tender. (I omitted celery as we don't like it.) Added the broth (I use low sodium...it doesn't even need the extra salt) and seasoning, added the chicken, then added the noodles and cooked until noodles were done. Add the cornstarch and water mixture last. Much easier this way. It's great, because you can use turkey or chicken! I make this when I have leftover chicken or turkey from a previous dinner...so all you have to do is cut the chicken up and throw it in! Great stuff...make in a big batch and eat off it for awhile or freeze it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paintponyscout
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
A little bland but perfect for a wintry day with lots of sickos!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I made this as written for my husband who has a cold. I've never made chicken soup before so I didn't know what to expect (so I cut it down to 4 servings). The flavor was decent and he seemed to like it, but I don't think it was quite what I was looking for. I don't know if it was my broth, (homemade) but the liquid seemed to evaporate and I ended up adding water at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Photo by mrsting
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Best homemade chicken noodle soup I've ever had! I left out the extra salt and the oil. Added peas,carrots & pressed garlic and sautéed them with the celery and onion to soften before adding to the broth. I Put the entire rotisserie chicken with 3 bay leaves in the pot and boil for 10-15 mins. Adds flavor! Remember to remove the bay leaves. I'd make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 843) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States