Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Yum! Yum! Skipped celery and cornstarch and added mixed vegetables. Great simple recipe for winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama and Daughters

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I really liked this simple recipe. The only thing is it appears to be missing the Carrots on the ingredients list as you can clearly see them in the picture, so I just added them. If you use the full sodium broth, it really tastes even better, but you can always use low sodium if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I like the versatility of this soup! I cooked the raw chicken in the pot first, added onions, carrots and celery and cooked the noodles in the broth instead of in a separate pot - I didn't see why I cannot just cook the noodles in the broth... Is there something I am unaware of? Anyway, turned out to be a nice comfort food. Easy on the stomach too. By the way, I used 3 of those Knorr chicken broth concentrate (meant for 10.5 cups of broth), but added 12 cups of water still and then salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Followed advice of adding carrots and boiling pasta in broth. It was fine but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I wonder why all you reviewers bother to post under this recipe at all if you are going to change the entire thing. Why not just post your own recipe separately and leave this one alone? Now, there's a thought ;) Review: I do not think this recipe is too salty. BUT I used homemade broth(no salt) and pressure cooked boneless chicken(again no salt ..as there is in store bought rotisserie chicken).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Not bad. The flavor is too strong so next time I will use less of the poultry seasoning. It is also a little salty so I watered it down a little. Husband disliked but the kids and I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zoltman
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
A good recipe, but in need of significant modifications. Using 1-1/2 tablespoons of salt is waaaaaaay too much and will cause your blood pressure to skyrocket! I used only a small dash of salt as the chicken stock already contained salt. Also, I didn't use all the cornstarch specified in this recipe. Instead, I slowly added the cornstarch mix to the soup and frequently taste tested the soup. Half of the cornstarch mix was more than ample and had the desired thickness. I think you would loose the flavor if all the cornstarch was added. There is no need for poultry seasoning if you marinate the chicken breasts for several hours ahead of time in a good spice rub like I did. For additional flavor, I added 3 cloves of minced garlic, 2 teaspoons of pepper and 3 bay leaves. As for the vegetables, I also added 4 small diced unpeeled red skinned potatoes and a bag of frozen sliced carrots. I precooked my noodles to an al dente texture and rinsed out the starch and added them at the very end. A great soup to have with home made or store bough biscuits in a can. Because of the alarming amount of salt and excessive amount of corn starch, this recipe only gets 3 stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoltman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Needs pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
A good recipe for when you're craving chicken noodle soup. I wouldn't say it was amazing, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This soup was really good. However, I did make a few small changes to it -- cooked 3 boneless chicken breast in the oven. Shredded the meat and added it to the pot with the onions, celery, carrots, poultry seasoning and 7 cans (15oz) low sodium chicken broth. Brought that to a boil and added the uncooked noodles. After they were cooked, added 2 Tbsp of cornstarch to 1/4 c of the broth from the pot. Mixed that up and added back to the boiling soup. Let that cook for a bit. I didn't add any salt while cooking and added parsley at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 835) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States