Grandma's Chew Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
LOVE this recipe just hits the right spot the only thing I changed was added a stick of butter :) and YUM YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These were easy and delicious. I made them for our Christmas party at work and my family loved them. I was shocked to see that I had some left to bring to the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
i've got a bit of a sweet tooth, and i was a little disappointed that these weren't sweeter. more of a bread, less of a cookie bar. Very easy though, and pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pinon Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Looking for something different to take to a Chocolate Fondue gathering. These worked great cut into bite size pieces. Dip in Dark, not so sweet chocolate. I used walnuts in half. Just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
My husband and I just moved South from Ohio, and I stumbled across chew bread at a local cafe/ bakery... having never heard of it before, I decided to try it out, and enjoyed it so much that I searched for this recipe. It was somewhat messy, and a little bit too sweet, but its a new Southern treat for us to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chqsummerbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wilson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Bread is definitely chewy. I goofed when measuring brown sugar, which comes in a 2 lb bag. Instead of using 1 pound (2 cups), I used 1 cup - really made a difference. Next time I'll use 2 cups from the 2 lb bag. NOTE: rather than cook sugar and eggs in heavy saucepan, I used double boiler - no chance of burning mix if you don't stir all the time. P.S. bread is filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The King's kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
Very easy to make. They taste good. Excellent recipe to make when you need something quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
These are easy to make and surprisingly yummy. When they first came out of the oven I thought they were only kind of chewy. Ten minutes later I could see why they were considered "chew" bread. If you love brown sugar, you'll love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
I'm a sugar and sweets lover, and it's the kind of snacks I like. Easy to fix, not that much dishwashing (just one pan), and keeps well. Try it, I'm almost sure you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2000
I needed a quick recipe and pulled this one up from my recipe files. To my surprise, it was fantastic. I urge everyone to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States