Grandma's Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I used brown sugar in the cake rahte rthan white. I am allergic to pineapple so left that out. I added 1/4 tsp ginger. Maple syrup since I was out of vanilla. I didn't have applesauce but I had apples, so I oven roasted them and blended them and used 1/3c of that and 1/4 c oil. I also threw in blueberry flavored craisins. The glaze we cut 1/4c sugar out, made our own buttermilk, and again used maple syrup instead of vanilla. After all of that, it turned out AMAZING! It was a bit too sweet for my taste, but was still delicious. Next time I will make sure I have vanilla, cut more sugar, and hopefully have some nutmeg or allspice to help balance the sweetness. I was hoping for more of spice cake taste. And my daughter says more carrot than two cups. Still, this recipe is a keeper. Super moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Very good cake, I added one small banana and substituted a few tablespoons of both butter and apple sauce for about half of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This was too different from the traditional carrot cake I used to make, was not up to par for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaDar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
GREAT Recipe!!! Moistest cake ever. My daughter made this for my birthday & passed on the recipe from this site. Best Carrot Cake we have found from NYC to Europe!!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
this is the BEST carrot cake ever, my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Love love this recipe....I doubled it and made a 3-layer cake with cream cheese frosting. My new go-to carrot cake recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I've made this a few times (I lost my original recipe that I used to make) and this is an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chepachet, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This IS the best carrot cake recipe! I have made it several times and it is always a hit. This is a fantastic recipe! Thanks for sharing it! I did make two changes. I added walnuts (I didn't have pecans) instead of pecans and I added raisins (like raisins in my carrot cake!) And instead of using the frosting recipe, I used a cream cheese frosting. (Really like that addition to carrot cake, personally.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This really is the best carrot cake in the world! Thanks so much, heybejay, for sharing it with us. I made a few changes, but I'm sure the recipe is absolutely wonderful with no changes. I love so many things about this carrot cake: It is lushly moist (but not sticky); you can taste the carrots, pineapple, coconut, and nuts (but none are overpowering); unlike so many other carrot cakes, this one is not dry and it's not oily, either; the tasty glaze is such a welcome change from the typical (and uninspired) cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This is the same recipe I have used for years. It is excellent as it is. However, my mother or I have made some changes that we think make it even better. I get raves for my cake so it must have worked. First I use all dark brown suger. If your not sure try half white, half brown at first. Then as so many others have done I reduced the oil in half and added that amount of applesauce instead. I also use l tsp cinnamon and l tsp pumpkin pie spice. It sparks it up nicely. In our family it is called the dangerous carrot cake because it is so good it is a danger to all resolve to modration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States