Grandma's Butterscotch Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I made this recipe for my neighbors and my hubby. They both rated it tops. I made meringue and since the recipe called for 4 egg whites I used the 4 yolks, and that is the only change I made. It is definitely a recipe I will be using again and sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
The recipe I have from my mother many years ago is almost identical. As a child it was my favorite. I made one today to take to a church carry in and I'm sure it will receive rave reviews. I'm hoping there will be a piece for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kenagy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worthington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Oh so good! Takes me back 30 years ago to a lovely butterscotch pie I used to enjoy in a good high quality cafeteria. The only change I made was, I didn't use a double boiler. Straight into the saucepan. This pie couldn't be better, and it's minus all those taste enhancers, artificial colors, and other nasty chemical additives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and it was nice, but it did not taste like real butterscotch flavor. My whole family noticed and it was quite a letdown on Christmas Day, especially for my father who loves butterscotch pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Tasted great. Made it for mother in law for her birthday (her fav). Never had it before, or even had seen one, but made it no problem. The only issue I had was I dont have an 'offical double boiler' I just use a pot of boiling waer with a glass pyrex bowl on top (have used this method for dozens of other double boiler instructions and had no problems). We after stirring forever, I couldnt get it to thicken even before I added my egg. I took it off the double boiler and poured it all in a pot and put it right on the burner. It thickened almost instantly, almost too quick had I not been right there. It turned out perfect. I just couldnt see it even getting hot enough the thicken with the double bolier. TASTED GREAT! Moter in laws eyes bugged out of her head she was so excited!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSIE7293

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Bedford, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This turned out perfect. I made this for a friend and he said it was the best pie he'd ever had. I didn't do the double boiler and had to turn the heat up quite a bit to get it to thicken, other than that no problem. I am making two more of these tonight. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
It was a decent recipe... but it wouldn't set in a double boiler so I switched to just using a pot and whisking constantly, and then I added more corn starch. Once it set, it ran. I tried again, to see if it was just something I had done, and this time I stuck with the double boiler even though it took forever, and it ended up running then too. The taste is fantastic, but I think I'm going to stick to my old butterscotch pie recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Anthony

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baie Verte, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This is a great recipe because every ingredient should already be in the pantry. Only 4 stars because it was too sweet for me. Next time, I'll follow others' advice and cut the brown sugar to 3/4 cup, and maybe even 1/2 cup. My picky husband really liked it. I wasn't sure how thick the filling should be. I cooked it until it was like yogurt, but should have cooked it a little longer. It set up ok, but I would like it more firm. It also wasn't as dark as the picture, so probably the longer in the pot the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Perfect consistency, VERY rich..almost too rich and I have a real sweet tooth. Best with meringue topping. Not quite the perfect butterscotch pie recipe. Think I will look for another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This recipe is very good, I just cooked it on the stove and stirred constantly, my mother askes me to make this for her every week.Thanks for such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States